Why does it work? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 19th, 2007, 08:50 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Morristown, New Jersey
Posts: 249
Why does it work?

I thought I'd try pan & scan reduction to DV without the extra step of editing in a Cineform preset outputing an HD avi and resizing in an SD project.

I captured HDV with OnLocation, transcoded with HDlink then brought the CFHD avis into CS3 in a standard resolution project. I edited, resized, pan & scanned frameserved to Tmpgenc express output files for Encore and burned my DVDs. It worked.

Shouldn't I have had problems with field order? or problems using the CFHD in a SD project? Waiting for the other shoe to drop.
Brad Tyrrell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2007, 10:54 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: monroe, or
Posts: 572
Brad... please forgive me for sidetracking your thread.

Can you explain the function and advantages of the frameserve process you use?

A quick thought on your question at hand... did you output to a progressive or interlaced frame? If interlaced, on closer inspection, you may have an interlacing issue with your HDV content... but that may be difficult to spot after rescaling down to SD?

I've mixed SD and HDV materials in Premiere 2.0 without any problems...that's with a progressive output though... haven't tried the same to DVD.
Marty Baggen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2007, 10:54 AM   #3
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
No problems if you do it all correctly. Clearly you have.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman

Last edited by David Newman; December 19th, 2007 at 12:24 PM.
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2007, 11:08 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: monroe, or
Posts: 572
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Newman View Post
Not if you it all correctly. Clearly you have.
I don't have my decoder ring... what does this mean?
Marty Baggen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2007, 11:37 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fernandina Beach, FL
Posts: 562
It means he didn't have problems because he didn't screw up. ;)
__________________
Carl Middleton
Whizkid Mediaworks
Carl Middleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2007, 12:24 PM   #6
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Sorry about my cryptic response. :)
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2007, 12:39 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Morristown, New Jersey
Posts: 249
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marty Baggen View Post
Brad... please forgive me for sidetracking your thread.

Can you explain the function and advantages of the frameserve process you use?

I find that Debugmode (free) framserves nicely to Tmpgenc using a form of YUV. It saves time and space. I see that Cineform has incorporated some of the Tsunami stuff so I guess I'll have to try that for encoding. CS3's media encoder just isn't good enough. Better than CS2, but not enough better.

I used to use Tmpgenc for resizing, but now I'm kinda hooked on pan & scan resizing in an SD project. I just thought you couldn't edit with CFHD in an SD project. I guess you can.

I'm still confused about the field order though. I take a upper first HDV, encode to a upper first CFHD, import it into a lower first DV timeline and it works. I think one of the programs is fixing it for me but I don't know which one. If I don't know, I'm afraid I'm going to mess up later.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Marty Baggen View Post
A quick thought on your question at hand... did you output to a progressive or interlaced frame? If interlaced, on closer inspection, you may have an interlacing issue with your HDV content... but that may be difficult to spot after rescaling down to SD?

I've mixed SD and HDV materials in Premiere 2.0 without any problems...that's with a progressive output though... haven't tried the same to DVD.

That's what I thought too. I'm not using progressive so ???
Brad Tyrrell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2007, 12:51 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: monroe, or
Posts: 572
Brad... probably the only way to reveal any field issues is to view a DVD on a CRT.

Have you tried reversing the field dominance of your HDV clip in your timeline... notice any change? Is there a lot of movement in the shot?

TMPGenc rules.... It's great for rescaling, deinterlacing, etc... I love it.

I still don't understand the frameserve process... I guess I need to do some research to learn about it.

For the pan and scan capability, After Effects is my first choice.

David: I love to harass your typing..... My theory is that you Think @ 300wpm, and Type @ 60wpm! Your presence here is invaluable, I hope you don't mind an occasional jab.
Marty Baggen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2007, 02:00 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Morristown, New Jersey
Posts: 249
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marty Baggen View Post
Brad... probably the only way to reveal any field issues is to view a DVD on a CRT.
Actually, one of the nice things about editing HD in a DV timeline is that I can preview on a standard monitor with the 1394 out.

But, - what started all this was that I made a bunch of DVDs for a client. I previewed the DVDs on a standalone player and crt, didn't see any problems, and sent them out. It was later that I started thinking that something wasn't right and was going to come back and bite me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marty Baggen View Post
Have you tried reversing the field dominance of your HDV clip in your timeline... notice any change? Is there a lot of movement in the shot?
Yep, It actually looks worse when I open in a upper first DV project, - well in preview anyway. No stuttering, but the resolution is down, - strange.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marty Baggen View Post
TMPGenc rules.... It's great for rescaling, deinterlacing, etc... I love it.

Agreed. Now I have to find out how much TMPGenc is in ApectHD It'd be nice to output to Encore from Premiere again.
Brad Tyrrell is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:08 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network