HV20 > NeoHD Flickering Double Image at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 21st, 2007, 11:23 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 60
HV20 > NeoHD Flickering Double Image

Just captured for the first time, and all the clips exhibit a double image and flicker when viewed (in Windows Media Player). The audio is fine, but the video does not show in Vegas Studio 8 Platinum. I used all the default settings, so no adjustment of frame rate. Other clips on the system view fine in WMP.

Any Ideas?

TIA...
--
Jim
Jim Browning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 22nd, 2007, 12:42 AM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Support knows about this one, it might be a graphics card issue. Support will be back Wednesday.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 22nd, 2007, 08:58 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 60
Thanks David... I'll submit a ticket with a sample.
Jim Browning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 22nd, 2007, 11:02 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 60
.mov is fine; .avi sucks :-)

Both a capture directly into a .mov wrapper, and files converted to .mov from the .avi capture, both work fine. So at least I have a workaround... :-)

I tried uploading a file to support but it was too big, so I'll capture a smaller file into the .avi wrapper and submit it, just in case it is helpful.

Thanks again...
Jim Browning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 22nd, 2007, 11:09 AM   #5
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
You will want to be using AVI, which has better PC support. It is a setting on your graphics card, but I don't remember what it is. Others on this forum have fixed this in the past.

For a short AVI, load a long one into VirtualDub, set it for Direct Stream copy in the video menu, mark in and out points and export to a short AVI, only takes a few seconds. In VirtualDub you will see the AVI fine, and it is your graphic card that is messing up the playback.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 22nd, 2007, 03:38 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 60
Ticket Opened

I've opened a ticket, after trying to card setting adjustments with no luck. All other .avi's work fine, both in the player and in Vegas, and as I've said, so do the CineForm files wrapped in .mov. It is only Cineform generated .avi's that have an issue, and it is only the video; audio is good.

If someone is willing to download this ~30MB file and verify that it can be viewed by them, I'd sure appreciate it, as it would confirm that this is related my video card, as David has suggested. Not that I doubt that, I've just learned through the years to verify things one step at a time. Here is a link directly to the file..

http://www.fundation.com/Images/HDLinkTest.avi
Jim Browning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 22nd, 2007, 04:29 PM   #7
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
The file plays fine, it is a card setting. Other no CineForm footage can do it too if has the same characteristics. It is something to do with the 3D properties and/or overlay support on NVidia cards.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 22nd, 2007, 04:41 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 60
Thanks David... I'll keep playing with the settings, and maybe someone who experienced the same thing will post.

Happy Holidays!
Jim Browning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 25th, 2007, 10:45 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 141
i've got the same problem on a new machine with the latest neo hdv (3.2.2). my card is an nvidia quadro fx 570. the files were encoded with a version of hdlink from june. i get a double image when playing with wmp. but if i open the same .avi files with quicktime player it looks fine (although quicktime plays it pixel-for-pixel with a squished aspect).

the demo file above also plays with a double image.
Ali Husain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 25th, 2007, 11:27 PM   #10
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
It not the files, it is the overlay surface your NVidia cards are opening. The newer the card, the cr*pier the overlay surport.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 26th, 2007, 02:33 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 141
pc device compatibility is a horribly complex problem and i wouldn't fault nvidia or cineform. in this case it's certainly a driver/windows setting issue.

the problem seems to show up if you're using windows media player with full-hardware video acceleration and just the right nvidia card and drivers. and it is, as our cineform guru has pointed out, a hardware overlay problem ( http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hardware_overlay )

with a little poking around i've found a fix. i'm not sure if it will work for everyone since i'm not a video driver or graphics card person.

in windows media player go to:

Tools->Options->Performance->(under "Video acceleration" click "Advanced:")

in the pop-up under "Video Acceleration->Use video mixing renderer" click off "Use overlays"

that solved the problem for me. my system performance meter during playback is still between 15% and 25%, and hasn't changed with turning off "use overlays."
Ali Husain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 26th, 2007, 09:28 AM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ali Husain View Post
Tools->Options->Performance->(under "Video acceleration" click "Advanced:")

in the pop-up under "Video Acceleration->Use video mixing renderer" click off "Use overlays"
Thanks Ali... I'll give that a try as soon as I get home this evening.
Jim Browning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 26th, 2007, 08:49 PM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 60
Woo Hoo.... it worked!

Thanks again....
Jim Browning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2007, 12:31 PM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 60
I spoke too soon... I'm only half way there. While all is good within WMP11, I still cannot see the CineForm .avi's within Vegas. :-(

I've updated my CineForm support ticket with that info.

Sigh...
Jim Browning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2007, 08:02 PM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 60
Support provided a replacement for one of the Sony DLLs, and all is well. Thanks to everyone for their help, and kudos to CineForm. I'll definitely go ahead and license my trial copy.
Jim Browning is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:49 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network