AspectHD vs Matrox RT.X2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 24th, 2007, 10:55 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lake Forest, CA
Posts: 106
AspectHD vs Matrox RT.X2

I am trying out AspectHD on my Premiere Pro 1.5.1 system with footage from my new Canon XH A1. I have a ticket in for the capture preview window being green when playing footage through the firewire (capturing or not). The footage looks fine if I ignore the green screen and go ahead and capture. Any one else have this problem?

Also, when I drop footage on the timeline and put a Cineform cross dissolve between clips, I get the red bar requiring rendering. I can't drag through it real-time either. This is a surprise as this is supposed to be real-time. I can put video on V1 and V2 and change opacity real-time which is what a cross dissolve does.

I do have a .X100 in my system right now, do you think this is the conflict?

I need to make a choice: PPro3 & Matrox RT.X2 for about $1,500 or AspectHD & PPro3 Upgrade for about $800. I have already upgraded my system to be on the Matrox validated list but it seems like so many have problems with .X2. Matrox's solution seems to be wipe and re-load windows and all your software. I'm sure the crash-o-matic Premiere deserves some blame but I have not heard the huge negatives about Cineform.

Sorry for rambling . . .
Steve Sobodos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 25th, 2007, 07:11 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fernandina Beach, FL
Posts: 562
Are you using the Cineform project presets?
__________________
Carl Middleton
Whizkid Mediaworks
Carl Middleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 25th, 2007, 10:55 AM   #3
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
There are conflicts with some of the Matrox cards, but I don't know the symptoms so I'm not sure if this is the issue. Please file a trouble ticket and support will be back at the office tomorrow, hopefully they will have a simple solution. Our support lead is an old .X100 user.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 25th, 2007, 10:59 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lake Forest, CA
Posts: 106
Yes I am using the Cineform preset for 1080/60i.

I filed a ticket on the green screen problem a week ago and we have not found the solution yet.

With fundamental functionality issues (Cineform cross disolve requires rendering and the green screen thing), I am apprehensive.
Steve Sobodos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 26th, 2007, 03:29 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 323
Simple question - does it do the same thing without the Matrox card installed? CineForm's components are realtime without rendering, you really need to know if the problem is Matrox (likely) or some other element of your system.
__________________
Company Website: Digital Foundry Ltd
Video Games HD Blog: Digital Foundry@Eurogamer
Richard Leadbetter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 28th, 2007, 12:01 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 334
I use Cineform with PPro 1.5.1. The Cineform effects are real-time, but if you have other effects on the clips, then rendering will be required. Also, if you've set the motion properties (scale, position, etc.), then rendering will be required. I forget if opacity changes also force a render, but I don't think they do...

On just straight cross-dissolves between two otherwise unaltered clips, Cineform effects/transitions do not require rendering (for me), but I do not have your Matrox card.

Thanks,
Matt
Matt Vanecek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 28th, 2007, 01:19 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Solana Beach, CA
Posts: 853
All effects/transitions/filters in the CineForm folders will be real time when using a CineForm preset. With minor exception (including cross dissolve), we don't map other Adobe effects/transitions/filters into the CineForm RT engine. So for the most RT performance always try to use a CineForm filter to minimize forced renders.
David Taylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 28th, 2007, 10:18 AM   #8
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Vanecek View Post
Also, if you've set the motion properties (scale, position, etc.), then rendering will be required. I forget if opacity changes also force a render, but I don't think they do...
Motion and opacity are real-time, even with scale and position, the only issue is we don't support b-spline paths, linear operations are RT.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 1st, 2008, 09:12 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lake Forest, CA
Posts: 106
Well I had a different problem with Premiere 1.5.1 and my Matrox RTX.100. I could not export an existing SD project to a movie using the Matrox Pre-set. This worked fine prior to all this so I uninstalled Quicktime which I upgraded a couple of days prior and Premiere could export the movie.

I tried many versions of quicktime and all had the same problem. I finally uninstalled Aspect HD, Matrox Xtools, and Premiere. I reloaded Premiere 1.5, then 1.5.1, then Matrox Xtools and the latest Quicktime - all worked fine, I could export my movie. I re-loaded Cineform Aspect HD and the problem returns - can't export Matrox preset movie project (no change to the project).

Since I plan on still using my Matrox RT.X100 - I am now giving up on Cineform. The green screen is the least of my problems. Thanks for your efforts.
Steve Sobodos is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:51 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network