Canon A1 Capture For Mac at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 15th, 2008, 02:28 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 19
Canon A1 Capture For Mac

Greetings. I have a few questions for the Cineform gurus.

We are using the Cineform intermediate to edit our feature on a PC system. All footage was shoot on XL H1s and captured via Premiere CS3 as M2T and converted in HDLink to AVIs.

We have a Unit team that shot additional footage across the country on a XH A1. They are on a Mac system.

What is the best way for them to transcode the footage to match ours? I did some research and it appears that FCP does not export M2Ts. Does the Mac version of CS3 export M2Ts? Could they transcode directly into Cineform?

Any suggestions would be very helpful. Thanks so much for your time.

Edgar
Edgar Pitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2008, 02:45 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Solana Beach, CA
Posts: 853
Edgar, your Mac team can download and install the CineForm Mac codec as long as their Mac is Intel-based. Then they can export directly from FCP to CineForm MOV files. You can then move those files back to Windows.

You will likely need to re-wrap the files to AVI files as PPro (Windows) doesn't do a perfect job using the MOV wrapper, but you can experiment with this. If it doesn't like the MOV wrapper then simply re-wrap the files to AVI using our HD Link (part of all CineForm products). Re-wrapping does NOT touch the underlying compression - it simply replaces the MOV wrapper with an AVI wrapper.
David Taylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2008, 02:52 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 19
Thanks so much David. I am big fan of Cineform and I am closely watching your progress on PC CS3 integration with the Red One, as we will be getting our camera in the next month.

Are the file size for Cineform .MOVs the same as the AVIs?

Edgar
Edgar Pitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2008, 03:52 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Solana Beach, CA
Posts: 853
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgar Pitt View Post
Thanks so much David. I am big fan of Cineform and I am closely watching your progress on PC CS3 integration with the Red One, as we will be getting our camera in the next month.
We will have some additional announcements about CineForm support for Red One in the near future - stay tuned.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgar Pitt View Post
Are the file size for Cineform .MOVs the same as the AVIs?Edgar
Yes, for a given quality level, CineForm file sizes are the same other than the small deviation related to the wrapper information, but that is insignificant.
David Taylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2008, 10:48 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 19
Is Neo HD the proper release for the Mac team to encode Cineform .movs? Thanks.

Edgar
Edgar Pitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2008, 11:33 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Solana Beach, CA
Posts: 853
Yes. Neo HD comes with two S/Ns - one for Windows which includes our HD Link capture and conversion utilities, and a Mac S/N for the CineForm Mac codec.
David Taylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2008, 11:55 PM   #7
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 19
Thanks. Can you get the Mac codec without the bundle?
Edgar Pitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2008, 12:22 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Solana Beach, CA
Posts: 853
Edgar, the Mac codec comes with the Neo package which includes both the Windows license and Mac license.
David Taylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2008, 10:32 PM   #9
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 19
Hi David. What is the proper aspect ratio to export on the Mac for a PC Aspect Premiere project? It allows for 1920x1080 and 1440x1080. Does it make a quality difference? Thanks.

Edgar
Edgar Pitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2008, 10:39 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Solana Beach, CA
Posts: 853
Edgar, there is no "right" spatial resolution. It depends on your deliverable format and also the resolution of your source footage. If you start with HDV there is no visual quality to up-rez to 1920, but if your final deliverable is 1920 then you'll need to up-rez at some point. If you have mixed source footage (1440 and 1920) you will probably want to up-rez to 1920.

We support both resolutions depending on the project needs. If you have specific project parameters you're working with we'll be glad to offer some suggestions.
David Taylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2008, 02:03 AM   #11
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 19
Thanks David. You guys rock at Cineform! I am closely following your effects on Reduser and I hope that you guys will be "allowed" to release your converson tool after NAB.

It is a little off topic, but while we are on the subject of 1920 deliverables... What is the best way to get the cleanest upconvert from 30p Cineform Aspect 1440 x 1080 (1.33) Avis? We are planning on exporting 1080p, DVD and BluRay masters.

Edgar
Edgar Pitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2008, 09:39 AM   #12
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Just take your 1440x1080 1.33:1 files into you DVD mastering tools, if 1920 is needed that will happen automatically.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:15 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network