*.dpx 10 bit log at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 17th, 2008, 10:36 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 376
*.dpx 10 bit log

First time when i have source ready for film print:)
What is the best way to encode and resize sequence of 1828x988.dpx (10bit log - 7063KB each frame) to Cineform 1920x1080p23,976 ? Next step will be encoding CFHD avi to avc or vc1 for BD and HD-DVD. Thank you.
Serge Victorovich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2008, 04:18 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Mexico
Posts: 176
If youre deliverable is film then the dpx log is ok the aspect of your footage at the resolution you mentioned is 1.85, wich is good for film.

Maybe for the BD and HD-DVD you´ll need to apply some printing LUT to emulate the look of the film on the theaters, or just linearize the file to display it correctly on the TV. For the resizing you can open a new project in AE in your input res, a comp in your output resolution, nest the input to the output. And render to whatever codec you need. Use your project in 16 or 32 bits, for the export, some effects on Log files can cause banding on 8bit exports.

If you have the means to acces to the source footage, maybe you could export directly to the frame size you need for the deliverable instead of resizing it, I dont know whats the source of the footage, but maybe they have the means to give a file in 1080p res.
Sergio Sanchez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 22nd, 2008, 04:50 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 376
Sergio, thank you for help!
This sequence of dpx log was loaded to Lustre with LUT and exported to dpx linear with resolution 1920x1080.

David, it is impossible to do conversion:
dpx log->cineform->dpx log with utilities DPX2CFHD.exe and CF2DPX.exe ?
Serge Victorovich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 22nd, 2008, 05:12 PM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Quote:
Originally Posted by Serge Victorovich View Post
David, it is impossible to do conversion:
dpx log->cineform->dpx log with utilities DPX2CFHD.exe and CF2DPX.exe ?
"Impossible?" -- the opposite, that is what those tools are designed to do. Unfortunately you seem to need a scaler with hasn't yet been included.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 22nd, 2008, 05:25 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 376
original log dpx converted by DPX2CFHD to cineform avi not playable in mpc player,
but dpx lin 1920x1080 to cineform - no problem and back do dpx lin is ok.
Any dpx log and lin possible to encode in cineform ? My problem non standart resolution 1828x988 ?
Serge Victorovich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 22nd, 2008, 05:42 PM   #6
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
lin vs log, we don't care, and can play and encode either (choose log over linear.) Likely your resolution, you need a scaler.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2008, 02:27 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 376
r3d2cf.exe had scaler and can convert r3d to cinefrom raw also?
Serge Victorovich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2008, 02:55 PM   #8
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
It will, Red has asked us to remove that tool until they are out of beta.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2008, 03:23 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 376
Because r3d after conversion to Cinefrom looks better than original ;)
For RED users who lost time (time is money ?)
1 step: Redcine can do conversion r3d->dpx
2 step: dpx2cf.exe for dpx->Cineform

David's gift for RED's happy users was free! fast conversion tool one step solution: r3d->cineform...

RED is like rat trap for PC users: buy camera at 17,5K and buy SCRATCH (more than $10K ?) to have PC workflow.
Serge Victorovich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2008, 04:48 PM   #10
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Scratch is much more than that. That is why we think CineForm we will be a great solution for Red users, fast, high quality and inexpensive.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2008, 05:10 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 376
My mistake...SCRATCH is ~$50K and interface looks very nice and cool as body of RED cam:)

I hope in this year regards to Cineform, Norpix and Sumix indy filmmakers can purchase affordable GIGe cameras and capture to a CineformRAW.

http://www.norpix.com/applications/cineform.php
Serge Victorovich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2008, 08:47 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Mexico
Posts: 176
I can tell you. Scratch is a really good investment. It´s very fun working with it. In my case I have to use a little more steps since I use a SI2K instead of a RED, but it is a very good solution anyway.
Sergio Sanchez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2008, 01:07 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 376
Sergio, but Iridas Speedgrade has native support of CineformRAW and cost less than SCRATCH ?
Serge Victorovich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2008, 05:24 PM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Mexico
Posts: 176
Yes I now. When i got the SCRATCH , Iridas wasn´t even in the mind of Silicon Imaging. So I guess i didnt have luck with the partership.

Anyway, its a very good application, if fact when i get bored i sit down and play with it even when I dont have to much work.

The only regret i have in the workflow is converting the RAW´s to dpx, so I have to use one more step, buts pretty cool anyway.

I hope someday in the future Cineform find a way to support the Scratch workflow as well.
Sergio Sanchez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2008, 03:39 AM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 376
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sergio Sanchez View Post
I hope someday in the future Cineform find a way to support the Scratch workflow as well.
Hehehe... May be. In case when Jim will replace redcodec in RED to CineformRAW :)

P.S. Any new semi/pro HD/2K/4K camcorder without CineformRAW is obsolete now...
Cineform must be a gold standard for HD/2K/4K as DV was for SD.
Serge Victorovich is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:47 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network