Can not preview video on a second computer monitor at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 21st, 2008, 10:32 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Vienna/Austria
Posts: 187
Can not preview video on a second computer monitor

Hi,
When editing DV projects using Premiere presets I have no problem viewing the video on my second Dell computer monitor. (DVI connection between the laptop and the Dell monitor).
But when editing HDV projects using the Cineform presets, I am not able viewing the video output on the second monitor no matter what I try to do.
Is it my system limitation? or is it a Cineform problem.

Thanks

Johnnie


Premiere CS3
Prospect HD
Dell precision M6300 laptop
Nvidia quadro 1600m video card
Dell 2405fpw Screen
Johnnie Behiri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2008, 12:26 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Coronado Island
Posts: 1,452
I'm not at my workstation right now, but as best I can remember: Open your Cineform project and open the "playback settings".
Be sure that full screen video preview is checked, and you may also need to check force yuv playback.
That usually does the trick.
Robert Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2008, 12:59 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Vienna/Austria
Posts: 187
Thanks Robert, was trying it before posting here, and no luck.
Johnnie Behiri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2008, 01:08 PM   #4
Sponsor: CineForm
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Cardiff-By-The-Sea, CA
Posts: 153
In the CineForm Playback Settings, check the 'Use Overlay' option. Also, make sure that the overlay is turned on in your Graphics Adpater's advanced settings. With nVidia cards, this is called 'full-screen video'. Just make sure that's enabled and it should work.

If you continue to need help with this, please contact support@cineform.com.
__________________
Jake Segraves
Technical Support Manager | GoPro...Be a HERO.
Jake Segraves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2008, 01:25 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Vienna/Austria
Posts: 187
Hi Jake, long time.....hope all is well.

Some new Nvidia drivers like the one I have don't have the "advanced setting full-screen video" feature any more. (but I can turn the card overlay setting on).
The Cineform "Use Overlay" option is checked, but is doing nothing.
As I wrote, with "normal" Premiere DV presets, I have no problem previewing video on the external computer monitor.

Thanks!

Johnnie
Johnnie Behiri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2008, 05:52 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Northern California
Posts: 517
NVidia Geforce 8 series cards are incompatible with Cineform's fullscreen overlay output. Certain older drivers allow it on early 8 series cards. Later 8 series cards are only supported by newer drivers, so you are out of luck. I have a QuadroFX4600, and can't use that feature from Cineform.
__________________
For more information on these topics, check out my tech website at www.hd4pc.com
Mike McCarthy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2008, 06:10 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Coronado Island
Posts: 1,452
Hmmm... I'm using the Quadro 1500 with the latest drivers (2/08) and have no problem with full screen video output from my Cineform projects. Is there really something different with the Quadro 1600 re video overlay output??
I might add that "force yuv" must be checked in the playback settings for my card to output the overlay.

Last edited by Robert Young; February 21st, 2008 at 06:14 PM. Reason: additonal info
Robert Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2008, 06:00 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Vienna/Austria
Posts: 187
Trying to follow some logic here...
When it is a normal Premiere project DV/HDV going to:
playback settings, external device, choosing the Dell monitor, will give me a perfect output.
Now using a Cineform Prospect HD preset: choosing playback settings, Enable overly surface (without or with "Force YUV desktop plaback" like Robert suggested, result with nothing.

I can assume that the card has an overly function since it is working well with normal Premiere settings.
BTW on the Nvidia control panel under "Manage 3D settings, Enable overly is ON.

Thanks,

Johnnie
Johnnie Behiri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2008, 10:28 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Vienna/Austria
Posts: 187
The work around...

Open a project in "Desktop mode", and select all the Cineform presets.
Then, in playback settings choose the external monitor, and voila, now it is possible viewing the video on the external monitor.

Cineform, please let us have an option using the external monitor like in the Premiere settings.

Thanks,

Johnnie
Johnnie Behiri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2008, 01:47 PM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canton, Ohio
Posts: 1,770
If this actually works for the overlay, don't you lose Cineform acceleration?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnnie Behiri View Post
The work around...

Open a project in "Desktop mode", and select all the Cineform presets.
Then, in playback settings choose the external monitor, and voila, now it is possible viewing the video on the external monitor.

Cineform, please let us have an option using the external monitor like in the Premiere settings.

Thanks,

Johnnie
Marty Hudzik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2008, 02:05 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Northern California
Posts: 517
You lose all of the Aspect/Prospect acceleration by using desktop mode, but that is the only way to get fullscreen output. I use dual view and just maximize the preview panel on that screen, but you still get ui bars at the edges.
__________________
For more information on these topics, check out my tech website at www.hd4pc.com
Mike McCarthy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2008, 03:06 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Vienna/Austria
Posts: 187
From the short experiment I did, There was no lose of Prospect HD acceleration.
Applying color correction or other Cineform effects all played in real time.

My real next editing session is on Tuesday, then I will be able testing the system and work flow in the desktop mode.


J.
Johnnie Behiri is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:50 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network