Cineform render problem in Premiere 2.0 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 25th, 2008, 11:54 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Frederick, MD
Posts: 10
Cineform render problem in Premiere 2.0

Cineform Aspect HD projects won't render properly for me in Premiere 2.0. I get a video preview error "Error compiling movie. Unknown error." However, the previews are being created in the preview folder, and I can play the rendered file in Media Player or I can import it back into Premiere (without audio, of course) and it will play. Interestingly, Cineform effects, like a simple dissolve on the first video timeline, need to be rendered (I don't remember needing to render effects in the past). Problem seems to be confined to the Cineform presets in Premiere. If I use another preset for the project and import video encoded with the cineform codec, the files will render and then play. Any ideas? Note, this problem developed after my technician replaced my boot drive, and the Windows XP OS and all my software got a fresh install. Also have a ticket open with Cineform, but no answer yet.

Thanks for any help.
Warren
Warren Morningstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2008, 06:09 PM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
That has been fixed. There is patch version for Aspect HD here : http://www.cineform.com/downloads/As...10a-080325.zip
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2008, 06:20 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Coronado Island
Posts: 1,452
David
I had that problem as well. Does Aspect Build 110 take care of it?
Robert Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2008, 03:18 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Foothill Ranch, CA
Posts: 152
Robert, you need to click on the link provided. It is to build 110a, not 110.
Andy Urtusuastegui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2008, 08:10 AM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Frederick, MD
Posts: 10
New build seems to work

Just did a quick test on build 110a. Seems to have solved the problem. I'll be working on my big project later today, and if it's stable, I let you know.

Thanks!
Warren Morningstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2008, 12:22 PM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Frederick, MD
Posts: 10
Everything seems to be working fine, now. Thanks for the update.
Warren Morningstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2008, 08:06 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 132
110a isn't working for me (I'm using PPRO CS3)... I get:

Error signature:
AppName: adobe premiere pro.exe
AppVer: 3.1.1.0
ModName: im-cfhd_file_import.prm
ModVer: 2.9.9.152 Offset: 0001003a

Have raised Ticket #: 611-5918313.

...oh, and I was also getting the "Error compiling movie. Unknown error." with 110.
__________________
Doug Turner
http://therunsmovie.com
Douglas Turner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2008, 08:38 PM   #8
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
That is not related the fix in 110a was an exporter change not an importer. 110a and 110 are otherwise identical. You will need wait for the ticket to be processed on Monday and I have not heard of this one.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2008, 08:46 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 132
Thanks David!

Have gone back to 5.4.2.107 in the meantime.
__________________
Doug Turner
http://therunsmovie.com
Douglas Turner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2008, 10:50 PM   #10
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Send a sample file that causes the problem to support, or link it here.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2008, 11:14 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 132
Sorry David - too busy, have to get picture lock this weekend.

Will load up 110a and do some testing once I've time next week.

Suffice to say, 110 was working better (was getting the Error Exporting at the end of an export though).

I have 5 x 17min projects, 100's of clips in each project, 1080 50i etc...
__________________
Doug Turner
http://therunsmovie.com
Douglas Turner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2008, 11:22 PM   #12
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Check the tea leaves, 110 and 110a are the same code -- not even recompiled. Only the export module is replaced. Your issue is not 110 vs 110a related.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2008, 11:52 PM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 132
Odd I'm getting an error in your import module when I'm exporting, then, eh!

I'll re-do the test next week.

...re-reading your first comment, David - looks like you assumed I was importing, but was actually exporting.
__________________
Doug Turner
http://therunsmovie.com
Douglas Turner is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:45 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network