Cineform install woes at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 18th, 2008, 12:58 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Antioch, TN
Posts: 67
Cineform install woes

Continuing to have Cineform installation problems. Now my CS3 XDCAM HD Presets are gone. Haven't heard from anyone in support now in nearly a week. Did everyone go to NAB--including support?
William Middleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2008, 01:04 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South Africa
Posts: 44
I'm no expert but have you tried reinstalling Cineform, and cleared the registry?
Christopher Grant Harvey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2008, 01:12 PM   #3
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Support is back. NAB is such a big event for us that even support was impacted.

The XDCAM HD presets are Adobe's, not CineForm's, so you might try Adobe support. I think those preset are new for PPro 3.2. However, as a CineForm user you should be selecting the CineForm/Prospect HD 1920x1080 preset at your frame rate.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2008, 02:08 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Antioch, TN
Posts: 67
That's the problem: the presets are not there in the new project window; only an empty cineform folder with no '+' sign to expand and view the presets. I already have a ticket open with support. They told me to run a .reg file that fixes the registry which I did but it didn't work. And now not only do I not have any cineform presets but the XDCam HD presets are now missing. I've already completely uninstalled AspectHD and CS3 and I still don't have my presets back. Definitely need some assistance here!
William Middleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2008, 02:22 PM   #5
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
These is where files should be

C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe Premiere Pro CS3\Settings\en_US\CineForm
With files like "Prospect HD 1920x1080 24p.prpreset"

and

C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe Premiere Pro CS3\Plug-ins\en_US\Editing Modes

Needs "CineForm Editing Modes.xml"

If they are both present, it might an Adobe issue. If there are missing then we can help.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2008, 02:54 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Antioch, TN
Posts: 67
Here is what is in the first folder:
CineForm 480p60 16x9 TS.vpr
CineForm 576p50 16x9 TS.vpr
CineForm 1920x1080 24p MPEG2-TS.vpr
CineForm DVHS 720p30 TS.vpr
CineForm WM9 720p30.vpr


There is no "CineForm Editing Modes.xml" file in the other folder. Is that something you could send me or attach?

Thanks,

Bill
William Middleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2008, 02:59 PM   #7
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Your registry must be messed up for Premiere, causing our installer issues. Those .vpr files are years old, we don't use or install them any more. The attachement has the missing components, put them in the correct directories as shown above.
Attached Files
File Type: zip PHDpresetsAndEditMode.zip (28.2 KB, 79 views)
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2008, 03:15 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Antioch, TN
Posts: 67
Great! That did it. Sorry to be a hassle about it all. I still don't have the XDCAM HD presets, but I think I the corresponding .xml file is missing for that too. I may have run cc cleaner one too many times.

According to the software, I'm on ApsectHD 5.0 (I installed from the DVD I purchased). When I first downloaded the trial version it was at v5.25. That may have been part of my problem.

Is there anything I need to be aware of when installing v5.25?
William Middleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2008, 03:32 PM   #9
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Trailing newer software and then installing the old may have been a problem, but unlikely (I switch versions a lot.) The XDCAM xml is Adobe's not CineForm's so I can't send that to you. Attached are Aspect HD presets.
Attached Files
File Type: zip AspectPresets.zip (21.5 KB, 64 views)
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2008, 03:55 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Arlington, VT
Posts: 88
I had a problem when installing 110a which might be the cause of the missing files.

When doing the update, the uninstaller runs, but also the installer ran at the same time (ie without waiting for the unisntaller to finish). So when done I was missing HDlink and I assume some other files. I didn't check what else. But basically had to uninstall through control panel, then run installer. To avoid this.
Eric Larson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2008, 01:48 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 243
Hi there!

I've just installed Cineform Neo HD on my PC. The installation reported no errors and HDLink opens without any problems.

However, the editing modes seem to be missing from Premiere Pro CS3.2. I've tried uninstalling and then re-installing Neo HD but I still have the same problem.

There are no .prpreset files in C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe Premiere Pro CS3\Settings\en_US\CineForm

And "CineForm Editing Modes.xml" does not exist in
C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe Premiere Pro CS3\Plug-ins\en_US\Editing Modes

I guess my registry must be messed up too. If at all possible, please may I have the relevant files?
Jack Kelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2008, 09:47 AM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Solana Beach, CA
Posts: 853
Jack,

If you want CineForm presets for PPro then you need to be using Prospect HD. Neo HD is mostly the same as Prospect HD but without our RT engine for PPro.
David Taylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2008, 03:53 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 243
Ah, woops - my mistake. I see from the Cineform website that I can easily swap to Prospect HD.

Can I use this workflow with Neo :

1) Edit "off-line" in PPro using DV proxies
2) Picture lock
3) Conform in PPro
4) Import timeline into After Effects and grade using Color Finesse & AE's own tricks.

In other words: does Prospect HD give any benefits for AE? I assume not.

Thanks,
Jack
Jack Kelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2008, 05:54 PM   #14
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
NEO HD and Prospect HD have the same features in AE. Prospect HD gets you online real-time editing within Premiere.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:52 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network