Mixing EX 1080i HQ with HDV in Prospect HD at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 20th, 2008, 08:36 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Coronado Island
Posts: 1,452
Mixing EX 1080i HQ with HDV in Prospect HD

In a CS3 Prospect XDCam EX 1080x1920 HQ test project, it looks like I can import and use 1080i HDV clips on the timeline right along with 1080i HQ. The sequence previews normally, transitions, titles, and graphics that span 1920 and 1440 clips seem to work fine, there are no red render lines.
Is there any downside to mixing these formats in Prospect/ CS3?? Will it cause problems when it comes time to rescale and transcode the final movie to other formats??
I'm getting ready to start a 2 camera shoot (EX and Sony V1). I don't want to get deep into it only to discover that I should have shot both cameras in HDV. I definitely do not mind shooting the project in HDV if that is more bulletproof, but I would love to archive the EX shots in 1080 HQ if it's not going to be a problem to use both formats in the project.
Robert Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 21st, 2008, 09:33 AM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Mixing 1440 and 1920 seamlessly is another cool feature of Prospect. Shoot the in best mode your camera supports.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 21st, 2008, 01:07 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Coronado Island
Posts: 1,452
David- that is absolutely fantastic.
By the way, I purchased, downloaded, and installed Prospect a few days ago, but never recieved the automatic email with SN, activation key, etc. I did submit a ticket, but haven't heard anything. I hope I get the activation info before the trial period runs out.
Thanks
Robert Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 21st, 2008, 01:15 PM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Robert,

Your activation was sent out two days ago. Please check your spam filter. All outgoing emails will be in the form @cineform.com
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 21st, 2008, 03:07 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Coronado Island
Posts: 1,452
David
I do always check the spam for Cineform. I did recieve two emails after purchase. The first almost instantly, the second a few min after download, but both only gave password for download, neither contained a SN, or a link fo SN. Basically, I recieved 2 versions of the same email.
Could you guys please send me the SN/Activation again?
Thanks
Robert Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 21st, 2008, 08:19 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Solana Beach, CA
Posts: 853
Robert, I just sent you a PM....
David Taylor is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:31 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network