Aspect HD and converting 1920x1080 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 21st, 2008, 04:34 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: LONDON
Posts: 178
Aspect HD and converting 1920x1080

I have some rendered CG at 1920x1080p I have tried to convert this in HDLINK under Aspect HD but it doesn't works stalls on 0%. Can I confirm Aspect HD will not ingest input above 1440?

Thanks
Deniz Ahmet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 21st, 2008, 09:38 AM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Should do if you scale to 1440x1080 in the Prefs. If not, send a small sample to support.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 21st, 2008, 12:07 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 323
In the worst case scenario you could simply rescale it to 1440x1080 in VirtualDub using the CineForm HD codec and the resize filter (with Lanczos scaling). It'll take longer to finish and the filesize will be larger than if HDLink were to handle it, but it's a foolproof back-up method.

If your source is fully uncompressed 24-bit or 32-bit RGB CG, you could use Neo 2K or Prospect 2K to convert into CineForm 4:4:4, or 4:4:4:4.
__________________
Company Website: Digital Foundry Ltd
Video Games HD Blog: Digital Foundry@Eurogamer
Richard Leadbetter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 22nd, 2008, 09:50 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: LONDON
Posts: 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Newman View Post
Should do if you scale to 1440x1080 in the Prefs. If not, send a small sample to support.


David, does that mean this information on your website is wrong?
http://supportcenteronline.com/ics/s...asp?deptID=614
Don't see 1920 listed there...
Deniz Ahmet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 22nd, 2008, 09:59 AM   #5
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Link in our old suport site don't work, one reason we stopped using it. I have no idea which you are pointing to. As for 1440 vs 1920 capture, why worry, it works on both PHD and AHD products, scaling if needed.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 22nd, 2008, 10:15 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: LONDON
Posts: 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Newman View Post
Link in our old suport site don't work, one reason we stopped using it. I have no idea which you are pointing to. As for 1440 vs 1920 capture, why worry, it works on both PHD and AHD products, scaling if needed.


So you mean I can import 1920 into an AHD timeline directly? No quality issues? wow
Deniz Ahmet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 22nd, 2008, 10:19 AM   #7
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
If you capture a 1920 source directly into AHD, it will scale to match it license.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 22nd, 2008, 10:51 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: LONDON
Posts: 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Newman View Post
If you capture a 1920 source directly into AHD, it will scale to match it license.

What I want to do is basically render my CG (in ParticleIllusion) and I then export at 1920x1080p AVI uncompressed. Then I planned to convert with HDLINK into 1440 AspectHD- retain the master.

This isn't working for me. I am forced to export directly into CineformHD codec at 1440i from PI.
Deniz Ahmet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 22nd, 2008, 10:58 AM   #9
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
The results are the same, as 1440x1080 encoded CineForm file. For converting your 1920x1080 uncompressed sources to a 1440x1080 CineForm AVI use a tool like VirtualDub.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:46 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network