Cineform Activation David Please Help ! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 25th, 2008, 04:17 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: cape town South-Africa
Posts: 251
Cineform Activation David Please Help !

I have bought a legal version of Prospect HD more than a year ago. I have been trough several activation and deactivation stages when formatting my pc.

I have been using the latest Prospect 2k upgrade as per de-and activation process the cineform way.

Upon internet deactivation I forwarded the deactivation code as always.

This is the reply from Cineform support :

Dear ALIENBRAIN P01,

The serial number (PHE11-21A7B9F677) cannot be deactivated. The
deactivation code you have specified is invalid, is from older software, or
has already been used to deactivate an installation.
As a reminder, we are only accepting deactivations from Connect HD 1.9
or newer, and Aspect HD 3.3 and newer.
Remember, deactivation is not necessary when upgrading from older
versions

If you feel that you have received this message in error, please feel
free to contact us at support@cineform.com

Regards,
CineForm Support

-----------------------------
SUBJECT: Product Deactivation
CONTENT:text/plain
Below is the result of your feedback form. It was submitted by
(alienbrainxx@yahoo.com) on Tuesday, April 22, 2008 at 11:19:51
---------------------------------------------------------------------------

I Contacted support with the link provided / NO REPLY !

NO REPLY FROM CINEFORM SUPPORT !

David , How is this possible - The client buys legal software only to be
told that his serial is invalid after a honest purchase.

My edit suite is out of order for more than a week now, because i have bought legal software only to be told and ignored further that my serial number is invalid.

SOMETHING IS SERIOUSLY WRONG HERE !

In the meantime my edit suite is out of order and i am losing income.
Herman Van Deventer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2008, 09:29 AM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Sounds like something support with get to today, assuming the email wasn't lost. Also use the www.cineform.com/support ticket system, that is registered system and data should not be lost. Activation issues can be simply addresses, expect feedback today.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2008, 12:54 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Solana Beach, CA
Posts: 112
Herman,

It appears you got the message you did because you already deactivated back in March. Nowhere does it say that the serial number is invalid, just that the supplied deactivation code was.

All you need to do is fill out the registration form at www.cineform.com/register.html to get a new key and you'll be ready to roll.
__________________
Tim Bucklin
CineForm Software Engineer
Tim Bucklin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2008, 06:12 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: cape town South-Africa
Posts: 251
Problem Solved

Halleluja !
Herman Van Deventer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2008, 09:32 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NYC Metro area
Posts: 579
"Activation" approaching "Aggravation"

I have a similar situation: If I don't use Aspect HD for a few weeks or longer, the next time I do, it asks me to enter my activation key. (Luckily, I've written it down).

The log shows this:
"Cineform HD Link Capture Application version 2.2.5..."
"Cineform Aspect HD - (4.3.2 Build 77)"

I've never consciously deactivated the software, (it seems to happen on its' own), and it still resides on the same machine it arrived on, which I bought brand new, custom-built, and with the software loaded and tested by the vendor. Between software and hardware, I spent over $ 10 K on this machine, and this is the only quirk that comes to mind.

Why does this happen? Is it an indication that maybe an update to my version is necessary?
How can I get the activation key to "stick" without having to enter it over and over?

This, too, is a legal version bought from a vendor who is, (or at least was when I bought it), a big proponent of Cineform products.

Please help.

Thanks,
Denis
__________________
Denis
------------
Our actions are based on our own experience and knowledge. Thus, no one is ever totally right, nor totally wrong. We simply act from what we "know" to be true, based on that experience and knowledge. Beyond that, we pose questions to others.

Last edited by Denis Danatzko; June 6th, 2008 at 09:41 PM. Reason: add'l info.
Denis Danatzko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2008, 11:40 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Bee Cave, Texas
Posts: 151
Dear Mr. Van DeVenter:

Take heart - you are not alone - I have now been on this computer and my primary editing computer for 16 1/2 hours today, attempting to reload it from a Windows Service Pack 3 caused total crash. On a previous day I received the following from the Cineform deactivation machine response:

"The serial number (P2E30-54--------) cannot be deactivated. The deactivation code you have specified is invalid, is from older software, or has already been used to deactivate an installation.
As a reminder, we are only accepting deactivations from Connect HD 1.9 or newer, and Aspect HD 3.3 and newer.
Remember, deactivation is not necessary when upgrading from older versions

If you feel that you have received this message in error, please feel free to contact us at support@cineform.com

Regards,
CineForm Support"


I have spent much of the last five hours attempting to validate my update from Prospect HD to Prospect 4K (via the discounted Prospect 2K), and was helped along by Support, except they left out one crucial step, which kept me at it unncessarily for hours - but I finally have it validated.

Cineform has an absolutely splendid series of programs, awesome in their effectiveness, but I would be so relieved if the often non-sequential, frequently scattered instructions for activation and implementation of effective program usage could be more coherent and organized.
William Urschel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2008, 11:56 PM   #7
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Please tell support and others what step they didn't tell you, you didn't say in this post.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2008, 04:02 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South Africa
Posts: 44
I found the upgrade from 2K to 4K very quick and easy...
Christopher Grant Harvey is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:07 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network