Monitor Output Overlay Not Working at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 29th, 2008, 10:34 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 222
Monitor Output Overlay Not Working

I've got two video cards installed in my Quad Core WinXP computer, the first is an Nvidia 7600 gtx (or something, 512mb) and an Nvidia Geforce 5400 (or 5200).

The big one runs two 21" LCDs and works fine. The little one runs S-Video out only to a JVC Broadcast Monitor.

I have the 3rd monitor the JVC set up for Video Overlay in windows and it displays fullscreen video perfectly while in a Premiere SD-DV project. So I know everything is set up correctly.

But it won't output to the monitor when I'm running in a Cineform HD project. I assumed it would automatically downconvert (scale) the image along with the pull-down 2:3:3:2 setting in the Cineform Playback settings window.


Anyone have any ideas or advice on what to change/check?

The last thing I want to hear is that I need an HD monitor to actually output Cineform timelines! Who can afford a professional HD Broadcast monitor?!

Thanks
Brent Graham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2008, 01:25 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 222
Out of 106 people, nobody knows?

Damn.
Brent Graham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2008, 08:24 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,666
If the issue is the SD-only resolution of the S-video port that you are using at the moment, then replace the 5400 with a sub-$100 6600GS or similar that has an HD-out port and cables (red/green/blue) in addition to S-Video.

You would then need a monitor or LCDTV or whatever with component inputs, but whether it has to be broadcast quality is up to you.
Graham Hickling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2008, 01:09 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Northern California
Posts: 517
Monitoring is a complex issue with Cineform. The basic options are Overlay with ATI or old Nvidia drivers, or use a XenaLH card. Lots of info on thhis in older posts.
__________________
For more information on these topics, check out my tech website at www.hd4pc.com
Mike McCarthy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2008, 03:16 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 222
But it's an SD broadcast monitor. So the computer hardware MUST be downsizing somewhere, and my guess is that it happens before the S-video cable, so why would that matter?

My video card is able to overlay SD footage. But can't overlay a cineform HD track, so is cineform not downrezzing properly?
Brent Graham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10th, 2008, 01:45 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Antioch, TN
Posts: 67
I have experienced a similar problem--I have a quad core winXP w/ a quadro FX 1500 video card (and Aspect HD). The card goes to two monitors--one HD monitor for full screen video playout, and the other to a vga monitor. This may sound dumb (and you may have already tried it) but make sure you have the latest drivers installed for your card. Prior to updating the drivers, I experienced hard crashes--right after a few seconds of playing video. Updated the drivers and that fixed that.

However, I still have a playback issue and only when I am in a Cineform project; I can play video but there is a huge glitch at the beginning; then when I hit stop, the full screen video screen returns to an image of my desktop. The video in the timeline never permanently stays on the full-screen video monitor. Not so when I am in a non-Cineform project.

I said all of that to say this: Cineform has acknowledged that this is an issue and they are working on it. This may or may not have a bearing on your problem, but it sounded similar enough that I thought I would post it.
William Middleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10th, 2008, 02:52 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 222
thank you.
Brent Graham is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:25 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network