converting HD 1920x1080 to 4:3 DV AVI's at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 12th, 2008, 04:48 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Natal, RN, Brasil
Posts: 900
converting HD 1920x1080 to 4:3 DV AVI's

Need some suggestions for easily batch converting a bunch of CF'ed 1920x1080 clips to regular 4x3 DV (letterboxed). Though we could do it with HDLink, the foreign customer would then need the CF codec to decode them for their use. Not good...

We're doing it in AE now to batch convert to m2v's, but wondered if there's a better mousetrap out there for this? How can we quickly and easily batch down-vert these to regular DV size and format (720x480 MPEG2 in AVI wrappers)?

Somehow the DV/D1 world is getting dimmer now and we can't wrap our brains around how to do it more easily from 1920 HD.
__________________
http://lightinaction.org
"All in the view of the LION"
Stephen Armour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12th, 2008, 05:16 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: cape town South-Africa
Posts: 251
Stephen,

Try TMPG EXPRESS 4.0 / http://tmpgenc.pegasys-inc.com/en/product/te4xp.html

Best value for money.
Herman Van Deventer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12th, 2008, 05:26 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Deep South, U.S.
Posts: 1,381
Just used the trial Tmpg 4.0 today and it is really sweet with the AC3 feature. I compaired mpeg encoding to main concept and IMO Tmpg is the winner.
__________________
Mark
videos: http://vimeo.com/channels/3523
Mark Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12th, 2008, 05:30 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Natal, RN, Brasil
Posts: 900
Quote:
Originally Posted by Herman Van Deventer View Post
Stephen,

Try TMPG EXPRESS 4.0 / http://tmpgenc.pegasys-inc.com/en/product/te4xp.html

Best value for money.
We've got it, but it doesn't do batch converts easily, as you're forced to make each file a "project" with TMPGEnc 4. Not friendly at all, unless we missed something somewhere
__________________
http://lightinaction.org
"All in the view of the LION"
Stephen Armour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12th, 2008, 06:32 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Solana Beach, CA
Posts: 853
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen Armour View Post
...Though we could do it with HDLink, the foreign customer would then need the CF codec to decode them for their use. Not good...
Stephen, the customer can always download CineForm's free Neo Player for either Windows or Mac to view footage. It's really just the CineForm decoder and it never expires. He/she can view footage in WM Player, in an editing app (PPro/Vegas) on Windows, or similar on Mac. Distributing the CineForm files will save a step of going to another codec.
David Taylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12th, 2008, 07:14 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Natal, RN, Brasil
Posts: 900
Problem is, our agreement was to supply these foreign customers with some downscaled DV versions of some of our stock footage (shot in their private forest gardens) so they could use them if wanted.

The free decoder/player is certainly easy to download and use, but doesn't help us meet that criteria for them. They need something generic.
__________________
http://lightinaction.org
"All in the view of the LION"
Stephen Armour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14th, 2008, 03:32 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: cape town South-Africa
Posts: 251
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen Armour View Post
We've got it, but it doesn't do batch converts easily, as you're forced to make each file a "project" with TMPGEnc 4. Not friendly at all, unless we missed something somewhere
Stephen, skip the batch encode tool - Load multiple clips via the ADD FILE
BUTTON / Click the deafault - apply filters tab and select Output Format
(This preset can be saved for cont. use) Also select -"output mode" on top as preferred choice.

This will encode all your clips loaded in the loaded order and save them as
seperate clips.

It seems like the batch tool merely splits up your processing power to start encoding all the clips at once - 1 x clip per processor - Time wise it calculates to the same objective.

Hope this helps/
Sorry for the poor English.
Herman Van Deventer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14th, 2008, 04:57 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Natal, RN, Brasil
Posts: 900
Tnx Herman, it worked just fine. Funny I had never tried multiple clips with it, as I never needed to before...

I do like TMPGEnc for it's control over output and speed. I had given up on it and now it's back in the show!
__________________
http://lightinaction.org
"All in the view of the LION"
Stephen Armour is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:19 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network