Combining 1440 and 1920 Cineform Files at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 22nd, 2008, 03:17 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 58
Combining 1440 and 1920 Cineform Files

I use ProspectHD and PP CS3 (with a custom preset in Prospect for 1440x1080 for HDV capture from my HV20 in 24F). I just ordered the HF100 and plan to combine my HDV (1440x1080) captures with 1920x1080 AVCHD files from the HF100. (I know I will need to convert them from mts to avi beforehand. I have tried VoltaicHD and Elecard's trial version with mixed results.)
Assuming I can figure out some good mts-avi conversion process, what settings would I use in PP CS3 to combine the two types? I would assume it's ProspectHD 1920x1080. But what will the 1440x1080 HDV captures look/behave like in this environment?
Ed Hecht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2008, 04:17 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South Africa
Posts: 44
Use HD Link to upsample your 1440 x 1080 to 1920.

Works great.
Christopher Grant Harvey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2008, 04:25 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Christopher Grant Harvey View Post
Use HD Link to upsample your 1440 x 1080 to 1920. Works great.
Interesting. I thought HDLink was a capture utility only. I will give it a whirl. I would have captured my HDV files to 1920x1080 (via HDMI) with HDLink and Intensity Pro, but I was getting really annoying AV sync problems in the captured files. Thanks!
Ed Hecht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 28th, 2008, 06:36 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 196
Cineform Live capture

Hi Ed.I found that I had a similiar experience in that the previous versions of the Intensity hardware and Cineform had audio sync problems but I think that if you update to the latest versions from both camps I believe that the issues have been ironed out.I have not had a problem since a few months ago when I updated so perhaps it's worth trying again.
Henry Olonga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 28th, 2008, 07:16 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 58
Thanks, Henry. It appears Black Magic DID release new software/drivers back in March. I did not have them. I'll have to wait to test til I get my new machine. :(
Just bagged my old P4 and am getting a Quad Core system to edit AVCHD files...
Ed Hecht is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:19 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network