Workflow question at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 18th, 2008, 11:35 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 71
Workflow question

Hi,

I want to know how big is the difference between the quality of these 2 workflows?

A) Camera -> Firewire -> Neo HD

B) Camera -> HDMI -> Blackmagic Intensity card -> Neo HD

My camera is a Canon HV30 so its HDV.

Thanks,
John
John Palaganas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2008, 11:41 AM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Asuming live capture via HDMI, the difference is huge if you are doing effects work, or anything that benefits from twice the chroma resolution.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2008, 11:45 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 71
Thanks for the quickly reply!

Yes it would be live capture. What about the risk of dropped frames? Also, will the filesize of the stream captured be alot bigger?

Im planning on using my Macbook Pro.
John Palaganas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2008, 12:08 PM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
If your PC is fast enough, no drop frame issue. Look at the CPU meter, if capture are under 80% CPU usage you are fine for handle the peak conditions. File are a little bigger as there is more information to capture.

How have you going to use a MBPro?
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2008, 12:24 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Newman View Post
If your PC is fast enough, no drop frame issue. Look at the CPU meter, if capture are under 80% CPU usage you are fine for handle the peak conditions. File are a little bigger as there is more information to capture.

How have you going to use a MBPro?
I can install the Intensity card into one of these Magma enclosures http://www.magma.com/products/pciexpress/expressbox1/ Express to PCI.
John Palaganas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2008, 03:01 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,414
You'll need to have a raid setup with lots of hard drives to handle the bandwidth....
Ray Bell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2008, 02:11 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray Bell View Post
You'll need to have a raid setup with lots of hard drives to handle the bandwidth....
I do have raid setup on my desktop but I want a laptop solution :)
John Palaganas is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:34 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network