Pro 2.0 upgrade to CS3 and Cineform question at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 18th, 2008, 10:00 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Pembroke Pines, Fl.
Posts: 1,842
Pro 2.0 upgrade to CS3 and Cineform question

We have been using Premiere Pro 2.0 with Cineform Aspect HD. We recently upgraded to CS3 and installed it. We opened some clips that were captured in in 2.0 with Cineform and in the timeline they show lines through the video until it is played. We also noticed that Cineform was not present in CS3 (no Cineform project options and no Cineform transitions/effects). The video footage when played looks much sharper and higher quality than in 2.0.

My questions are:

1. Will Aspect HD work with CS3?
2. Is Aspect needed with CS3 or can HD footage be edited without it?
3. If needed, which version of Cineform do we need?

Bruce Yarock
www.yarock.com
Bruce S. Yarock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2008, 02:30 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 323
1. Yes, or CineForm wouldn't be making much money from Aspect HD going forward!
2. You can use NEO Player but you lose the Premiere-specific acceleration engine.
3. NEO Player as an absolute minimum, Aspect HD would be ideal, Prospect HD or above if you're using 1920x1080 footage.

With regards your initial point, you've basically installed a new version of Premiere. The CineForm components don't keep a constant check of your hard disk so they don't know that CS3 is there.

In your position I'd be getting hold of the latest Aspect HD from the CineForm site, uninstalling the old one, then installing the new one. Job done, balance is restored to the Force.
__________________
Company Website: Digital Foundry Ltd
Video Games HD Blog: Digital Foundry@Eurogamer
Richard Leadbetter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2008, 06:33 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Pembroke Pines, Fl.
Posts: 1,842
Richard,
Thanks for the info. Btw, what is the "neo player''? Also, any idea why the footage looked so much better in cs3? Does it have to do with having no Cineform compression?
Bruce Yarock
www.yarock.com
Bruce S. Yarock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2008, 10:29 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 323
NEO Player is the CineForm VFW and DirectShow decoder. I also believe it contains a revised Premiere importer. It is free from www.cineform.com and allows you to share CFHD video with people who are not CineForm customers. It is basically the same decoder found in all CineForm products.

I've no idea about this quality issue. You're not being very clear on what the footage is, whether it's in the CineForm codec or not etc etc etc.
__________________
Company Website: Digital Foundry Ltd
Video Games HD Blog: Digital Foundry@Eurogamer
Richard Leadbetter is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:12 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network