Can NeoHD be installed on both Final Cut and Premiere Pro? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 20th, 2008, 03:37 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 71
Can NeoHD be installed on both Final Cut and Premiere Pro?

Hi, I am just wondering if NeoHD be installed on both Final Cut and Premiere Pro on the same Mac machine?

Thanks,
John
John Palaganas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2008, 04:18 PM   #2
Sponsor: CineForm
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Cardiff-By-The-Sea, CA
Posts: 153
On the Mac, the CineForm codec that comes with NEO HD doesn't install 'into' Final Cut or Premiere per se. It installs as a codec that is available to any application that lets you import files using third party codecs. Both FCP and PPro let you do this. So to answer your question, yes.
__________________
Jake Segraves
Technical Support Manager | GoPro...Be a HERO.
Jake Segraves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2008, 08:31 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 71
Thanks!

Is HDLink available on the Mac? For example I need to do 60i to 24p? slow-mo, etc...
John Palaganas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 21st, 2008, 09:58 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Solana Beach, CA
Posts: 853
We will be porting the conversion features of HD Link to Mac. I don't have a specific date yet, but we have recently added another resource to our Mac team to accelerate many Mac features. Recently we have been slower to roll out new Mac builds due to having too many project demands placed upon us. But expect a series of new Mac builds that add performance and features, including manyof those in HD Link, over the coming months.

Our first new Mac build in a couple months will likely appear next week. This will be a codec release, not (yet) with new HD Link features, but those will appear over time.
David Taylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 21st, 2008, 08:48 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 71
Thanks David, if I upgrade to Neo HD now will I have a free upgrade to the Mac version of HD Link when it comes out?
John Palaganas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2008, 10:03 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Solana Beach, CA
Posts: 853
John,

Currently Neo HD/4K and Prospect HD/4K also come with a license to our Mac codec. When we have a first release of HD Link conversion SW on Mac we will probably separate the products into Mac versions and Windows versions.

We have not decided on our upgrade strategy, so anything I say following might change, but I imagine Neo HD/4K customers will get an upgrade to the Mac version. We will probably not do this for Prospect HD/4K as those customers are firmly entrenched in Windows/PPro workflows.
David Taylor is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:18 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network