quality of preview window in Premiere at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 3rd, 2008, 12:21 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: netherlands
Posts: 52
quality of preview window in Premiere

I started using aspect HD (trial) and like it very much.
I'm thinking of buying the product.

The captured video's are of very good quality.
But the qualtity in the preview window in premiere itself looks a lot worse then the
official captured videofile when played in media player for example.

Is the premiere preview window always of lower quality then the official captured file does?
Rob Willemse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 3rd, 2008, 12:45 PM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
In playback settings window you can control the preview quality. It is currently set for editing speed. Plus your exports will always be full quality.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 3rd, 2008, 12:53 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: netherlands
Posts: 52
Yes, you can choose between a high quality window a draft window
or it can be set to automatic. The question is.
Is the high quality setting at full resolution or is it not as high as the
original footage? I captured the footage as aspect HD high quality. Outside premiere it looks great.

It doesnt botter me as long as the final output and the captured files are left ok.
Rob Willemse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 3rd, 2008, 01:00 PM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
"high quality window a draft window or it can be set to automatic" -- seems like you are using the wrong controls. In the Aspect HD's playback settings window you have this options :
"De-interlace video while scrubbing" -- uncheck for full resolution will scrubbing
"Disable preview mode playback" -- check for full resolution playback.

CineForm is always the full quality of the original.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 3rd, 2008, 04:22 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: London
Posts: 222
same with Vegas preview window

Hey -same problem in Vegas - my SOny V1 or Canon HV20 footage captured in Neo HDV looks horrible in the Vegas Preview window even at best quality - rendered and viewed on a 42" plasma it looks good.
Sherif Choudhry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 3rd, 2008, 04:58 PM   #6
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Different issue. In Premiere, we control the quality, and you can make look as good as you want; in Vegas, Vegas controls the quality. Some issues with Vegas preview -- it display black and white points at the wrong levels for a computer display (lacks correct contrast), plus sometimes their preview uses a poor quality scaler. Not CineForm issues, Vegas is built built that way.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 4th, 2008, 11:56 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: London
Posts: 222
Cineform testing the Vegas HDV reader??

So are you guys involved with Sonys beta test of the Vegas improved HDV reader? Because effectively Vegas reads cineform files? I find it so FRUSTRATING that the preview window shows poor quality.
Sherif Choudhry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 4th, 2008, 12:16 PM   #8
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
It is a Sony issue not ours. We decode to the quality and to the color space Vegas requests, then who Vegas scales or formats the data outside of our control. Same for any other codec (except CineForm is one of the only to support Vegas' RGB color space.) Sounds like you have an issue that needs Sony attention.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:17 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network