Cineform and Blackmagic ETA? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 23rd, 2008, 07:28 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 13
Cineform and Blackmagic ETA?

Just to keep chipping away at a topic already raised a few times in this forum...

What is the latest on Cineform/Blackmagic compatibility?

The combination of Cineform with realtime preview I/O through a Blackmagic card would be so amazingly useful and would benefit both companies surely.
Graham Kay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 23rd, 2008, 09:48 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Solana Beach, CA
Posts: 853
We agree. As was discussed in a different thread, Blackmagic has problems with their drivers when used by third parties. They have been unresponsive about fixing them unfortunately. That has been the bulk of the delay. We hoped to have this working for NAB 08.

However...we have figured a way to work around their problem, and we intend to do so. Hopefully we will be on this in the near future. I hate to quote dates when priorities can change, but we hope to have this available in the next month or (more likely) two.
David Taylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 24th, 2008, 04:25 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 13
Good News!

Thanks, David. This is really encouraging. Is it worthwhile for us users to badger Blackmagic about working on the problem at their end too, even if you beat them to it with your workaround?

Cheers
Graham Kay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 24th, 2008, 04:45 PM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
No beating up on Blackmagic, they have great products and are very busy. We understand how an overfilled schedule can make addressing even small issue difficult, particularly when it doesn't impact everyone. We have an work aournd in mind, now to make a place for it in our schedule.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2008, 02:41 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 13
Understood. Perhaps now I'll go ahead and buy one of their cards instead, and await news of your workaround!
Graham Kay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2008, 01:21 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Medford, OR
Posts: 347
David,

Would this "problem" explain why I get low quality previews using my Intesity card and Neo in Vegas 8?

Thanks, Marc
Marc Salvatore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2008, 09:41 PM   #7
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Not related.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:17 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network