Question about NEO HDV 709 to 601 conversion at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 13th, 2008, 07:26 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bethesda, MD
Posts: 397
Question about NEO HDV 709 to 601 conversion

To David Newman,

In an old post here: http://dvinfo.net/conf/showthread.php?t=35234
you mentioned that it's possible to use a SD monitor to color correct the Cineform Codec, or HDV?

I'm using HDV NEO and I'm realizing that I just can't trust what I see on my DELL 2407 WFP-HC monitor. I do have a decent SD 14" Sony SD monitor.

Would you mind explaining how to use this SD monitor to color correct HDV NEO footage?

Or did I misunderstood what you said in that old post?

Do you think of a decent option, other than buying a 4000 bucks HD monitor?

Would my best option be a Sony LMD-2030W monitor?
Thanks
Larry
Larry Secrest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2008, 09:33 AM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Put up bars and calibrate, 709 vs 601 is handle automatically. Are you using Vegas?
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2008, 10:03 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bethesda, MD
Posts: 397
Yes, I'm using Vegas.
Which bars?
NTSC BARS?
Can I use the one recorded on a tape from the XH-A1 and play it in the CRT?
Larry Secrest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2008, 10:05 AM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
It does mater which bar style you use, just that you can callibrate to them. Camera bars are fine.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2008, 10:19 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bethesda, MD
Posts: 397
Can I calibrate the camera's bar according to this: http://www.videouniversity.com/tvbars2.htm
Larry Secrest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2008, 11:16 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bethesda, MD
Posts: 397
Well, I calibrated my DELL 2407 WFP-HC to match what my Pro SD Sony monitor displays once properly calibrated using the bars from the camera.

Would you say I'm all set to do color correction?
L.
Larry Secrest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 14th, 2008, 09:34 AM   #7
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Yes, go for it.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:29 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network