Prospect HD & Matrox Axio LE at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 28th, 2008, 12:15 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Malta
Posts: 306
Prospect HD & Matrox Axio LE

Is anyone using Prospect HD with PPro CS3 & Matrox Axio LE? I have downloaded the trial version but am afraid to install it for fear of a conflict with the Axio. I could not find any info on such a scenario both in this forum and in Cineform web site.

I'm thinking of using Prospect HD in the hope that it does a better job in downconverting HD to SD than adobe or matrox encoder. I'm currently using an EX3 (1920x1080 files).Are you guys happy with Prospect's downconversion?

Thanks
Brian Cassar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 28th, 2008, 12:40 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 626
Hi Brian,

I'm a Matrox RT.X2 user and think I know what you are talking about with HD to SD quality - are you referring to the poor results when encoding an HD timeline to "MPEG-2 for DVD" ?

This is an Adobe issue in how it handles the color space conversion (or so I am told), even when using Matrox Encoder (which uses Adobe under the hood).

I have a few workarounds to suggest which can really make a difference. One would be to just use a third-party encoder, such as Grass Valley ProCoder 3. Just Import your Matrox .avi into it and output to format of choice.

Another method, staying in Adobe, is to Export Movie from Matrox HD timeline, but change export settings from the Matrox HD codec to "Matrox DV Widescreen", also changing pixel aspect to 1.2 DV widescreen. This way, Matrox is converting to DV, not Adobe. Now take the resulting .avi file into a Matrox DV project, and export to MPEG-2 16:9 from there.

Last option is to open a Matrox DV widescreen project, Import HD project into it, then again Export to MPEG-2.

I have not tried Prospect HD, but am pretty sure you'd lose any Matrox realtime playback, would likely require rendering in timeline.

Jeff Pulera
Safe Harbor Computers
Your #1 DV & 3D Animation Source - Safe Harbor 800-544-6599



Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Cassar View Post
Is anyone using Prospect HD with PPro CS3 & Matrox Axio LE? I have downloaded the trial version but am afraid to install it for fear of a conflict with the Axio. I could not find any info on such a scenario both in this forum and in Cineform web site.

I'm thinking of using Prospect HD in the hope that it does a better job in downconverting HD to SD than adobe or matrox encoder. I'm currently using an EX3 (1920x1080 files).Are you guys happy with Prospect's downconversion?

Thanks
Jeff Pulera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 28th, 2008, 02:28 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Malta
Posts: 306
Hi Jeff,

Exactly! I'm referring to the unacceptable results obtained when either exporting or encoding a HD timeline to mpeg2 DVD. The results are horrible.

I have already done option 2 but still I'm not impressed with the result. The good thing is that, as you said, one does not loose the hardware acceleration for exporting.

I will try the other 2 options maybe I solve this problem.

At the moment I'm doing another option - I exported from the HD timeline a mpeg2 iframe file and I'm applying a sharpening effect to it. The good thing is that from the preview monitor it seems that the resultant sd picture is very sharp (almost HD) - however the bad thing is that it is an Adobe filter and thus needs rendering. I've calculated that on my quad core HP workstation 1 hour of footage with this effect needs more than 5 hours of rendering! It's like going back to the dark ages!
Brian Cassar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 28th, 2008, 07:13 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Northern California
Posts: 517
I have AXIO and Prospect/Neo. I usually only put Neo on my AXIO systems to avoid conflicts, but I have installed Prospect on occasion, and it works. You have to choose AXIO or Cineform editing mode, you don't get to use the features of both simultaneously, but your system will be able to read and write both codecs in either mode.
__________________
For more information on these topics, check out my tech website at www.hd4pc.com
Mike McCarthy is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:29 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network