Prospect HD Upgrade and choice of camcorder at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 17th, 2008, 10:05 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Milwaukee WI USA
Posts: 55
Prospect HD Upgrade and choice of camcorder

So If I upgrade to Prospect from Aspect, my dilema is this...

I was always thinking about getting either HV20 or HV30 because of compatibility with Aspect, but

HF100 and HF10 do real 1920x1080 resolution but in AVCHD but if I have Prospect could I use HDLink and transform these AVCHD files into nice editable full 1920x1080x30p or 60i or 24p native AVI files that would not have to be rendered in PPro CS3? Just like HDV files now with Aspect don't have to be renedered?

and is this then a better solution Canon HF100 and Prospect or Canon HV30 and Aspect?

if you look at the prices, it ends up being almost the same. Looks like HF100 is a bit cheaper and $200 Prospect HD upgrade evens that out
Mario Jesmanowicz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2008, 10:27 AM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
As Aspect HD is going away, it should make the choice easier. Upgrading to Prospect HD will get you a tool will continue to be updated, including CS4 support, and more features that will help with either HDV or AVCHD sources.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2008, 02:35 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Milwaukee WI USA
Posts: 55
So with Prospect HD and having native 1920x1080 support for 30p 60i and 24p I should be able to handle any cameras like Canon HF100, HF10 or even DSLR 5D Mark II ???

HDLink with Prospect should be able to convert them and Cineform in PPro CS3 will have native support for all of it?
Mario Jesmanowicz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2008, 02:45 PM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
That is correct, all those cameras can be converted to 1920x1080 CineForm AVIs.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2008, 03:11 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Milwaukee WI USA
Posts: 55
:) I just bought the upgrade. They send me an email to send them my serial number from Aspect HD to confirm that I am the Aspect owner. I replyed with my serial number.

Do you know how long it takes for them to get back with the new serial for me?
I am using 15 days trial now and I guess now I am looking for some raw m2ts files to test it on before I buy the camera.

Anyone knows where I could download raw m2ts files for testing?
Mario Jesmanowicz is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:07 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network