Canon 5D2 support? - Page 3 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 26th, 2009, 03:07 AM   #31
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Berlin Germany
Posts: 25
Actually the reason why I want to edit direct on Premiere the original mov files is that I want to avoid too many convertions (sometimes I have many files). But If I use the converted audio of the Cineform AVI, it is indeed longer than the mov. So I get problems with synch.
Actually the problem is only during preview. If I stop it and then start it again, the problem is gone for a while. When I export the mov after editing, the audio is perfect.

Last edited by Edouard Saba; January 26th, 2009 at 04:49 AM.
Edouard Saba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2009, 10:06 AM   #32
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Berlin Germany
Posts: 25
So, I finally managed to get it right (just by chance). That means I can import the original MOV file on Premiere in a new Cineform project, edit them with perfect preview and without rendering (audio and sound) and export them as a AVI Cineform. Now HD link convertion worked one time in the right way, but then it stopped as usual. The only thing I know is that after istalling again the Vista Codecs from shark007 and choosing set the mov to use Haali splitter it started finally to work without the audio delays...
Edouard Saba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2009, 12:17 PM   #33
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Berlin Germany
Posts: 25
PS: with Windows 7 I still didn't manage to get it work perfectly.
Edouard Saba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2009, 07:15 PM   #34
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Vancouver, CANADA
Posts: 137
hey David,

I need a bit of a reality check... So i can plan around this stressful project of mine.

I have a huge client job that is due in 2 weeks. We shot mostly at night with the mark II.

Realistically do u think this new neo V4 would get released sometime this week or next? Is there a projected released date? End of feb?

Im in a bit of a panic. SHould i plan for plan B? Or hang in as somthing might come out soon?
__________________
www.ozan.ca
Ozan Biron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2009, 10:23 AM   #35
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 991
Check out the free transcoding solution I posted here.

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/canon-eos...-solution.html

Works pretty well and the software feels very robust and reliable.
Yang Wen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2009, 01:36 AM   #36
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Rennes France
Posts: 16
NEO HD v3.4.9 + CoreAVC (Video) + ffdshow (Audio)

Using CineForm HDLink (And windows XP ), I also had major problems with audio.
(In fact, I had no audio at all !)

So I installed ffdshow and tried to ensure that it decodes the audio (And audio only):

ffdshow:
Video decoder: uncheck all supported video
Audio decoder: check "Raw files" (Uncompressed : all supported)

(CoreAVC: as usual)

Result is perfect.
(Sorry for my bad english)
Didier Perrichon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2009, 10:13 AM   #37
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Didier,

Thanks for an excellent solution for handling the audio under NEO HD.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2009, 01:50 PM   #38
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Berlin Germany
Posts: 25
Well, after following your suggestion, cineform didn't work anymore on my pc (probably because ffdshow caused conflicts with vistacodecs). I couldn't get any preview starting on premiere. I had to uninstall ffdshow, vistacodecs and corecodec because I couldn't get anymore the right settings. Then, after many tries, I managed to get it work like before.

Last edited by Edouard Saba; February 8th, 2009 at 02:57 PM.
Edouard Saba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2009, 09:32 PM   #39
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Voorheesville, NY
Posts: 433
I'm leery of ffdshow anyway, but it didn't work, with it installed under Vista x64 (as per your suggestions for setting the ffdshow options). 5D2 MOV files converted to CFHD AVI, either had no audio (no change) or would lock up the media players, when playing the file (new result).
Jay Bloomfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2009, 01:53 AM   #40
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Rennes France
Posts: 16
Iím leery of Vista. So I've only tried this method under XP

On my first PC, it worked right from the first try.
On the second, it was a bit more complicated: After installing ffdshow, I was obliged to re-install CoreAVC and NEO HD, reboot the PC, and so onÖ (Windows, my love)
But now, it works perfectly well
Didier Perrichon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2009, 10:48 AM   #41
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Voorheesville, NY
Posts: 433
Quote:
Originally Posted by Didier Perrichon View Post
Iím leery of Vista. ..
LOL, aren't we all. Maybe if I have some free time later, I'll try uninstalling/reinstalling CoreAVC & NEO HD.

BTW, I don't see why people think Windows 7 is going to be such a big improvement.
Jay Bloomfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2009, 03:55 PM   #42
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Houten (Netherlands)
Posts: 11
I've tried the ffd approach but it didn't work, still no sound.

I'm a total video noob but here is what (seems) to work for me...

After de-installing Cineform and re-installing it gave a message that no valic AC3 decoder was found and suggested I installed ac3filter from AC3Filter
After I installed ac3filter I have sound :)
Taroen Pasman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2009, 07:56 PM   #43
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Voorheesville, NY
Posts: 433
There's a new version of the CoreAVC (1.9.0) h.264 decoder, which will take advantage of nVidia's CUDA GPU programming framework. You need to have an nVidia graphics card, of recent vintage and have a CUDA-aware Windows video driver of at least version 181.69. The most recent beta driver (182.05) works fine (Just tried it).

<simplified explanation alert> What CUDA does, is it uses your GPU cores as mini-CPUs, to do calculations, in addition to providing the raw video to your display. Think of it this way. In a "normal" computer setup, the CPU would have the responsibility of the math to create a wire frame of a 3D object and the GPU would handle coloring it in. In the case of a decoder, normally the CPU would spend it's time turning the file's contents into pixels and the GPU would just worry about painting the pixels on the screen. CUDA allows the graphics card to "help" the CPU with the decoding.

There's also a new version (1.1.1) of the CUDA-based h.264 encoder, BadaBoom:

Products | badaboomit.com

The trial is full-featured and expires after 30 encodes.
Jay Bloomfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2009, 12:17 AM   #44
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Canyon Country, CA
Posts: 430
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay Bloomfield View Post
There's a new version of the CoreAVC (1.9.0) h.264 decoder, which will take advantage of nVidia's CUDA GPU programming framework. You need to have an nVidia graphics card, of recent vintage and have a CUDA-aware Windows video driver of at least version 181.69. The most recent beta driver (182.05) works fine (Just tried it).

There's also a new version (1.1.1) of the CUDA-based h.264 encoder, BadaBoom:

Products | badaboomit.com

The trial is full-featured and expires after 30 encodes.
I've been playing 5DII and AVCHD clips all night with CoreAVC 1.9.0 with Windows Media Player. Really smooth, and the CPU is doing very little, it's all in the GPU - very nice. Now I have to try Badaboom.

Last edited by Charles W. Hull; February 11th, 2009 at 12:18 AM. Reason: typo
Charles W. Hull is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:29 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network