Premiere's 'maximum bit depth' check-box at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 20th, 2009, 01:36 AM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,666
Premiere's 'maximum bit depth' check-box

Having recently moved from Aspect to Prospect, I'm still getting my head around the whole 16-bit vs. 8-bit thing.

Premiere has a "max bit depth" checkbox under Project/Render settings, which is unchecked by default. So .... if I create a default Cineform project, edit and then render will I get an 8-bit file, unless I check that box in which case I'll instead get a 16-bit one? Am I understanding that correctly?
Graham Hickling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2009, 10:02 AM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
That control open applies for non-CineForm exports. We use the Playback Settings control to select 32-bit float vs 8-bit RGB.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2009, 10:19 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canton, Ohio
Posts: 1,770
along those same lines......are there any specific effects that we need to choose? Obviously the Cineform ones but are there any Adobe specific filters that are better than others? I also use Magic Bullet presets and Colorista....are these 10bit or better?
Marty Hudzik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 22nd, 2009, 09:43 AM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
I know Magic Bullet was planning a 32-bit version, not sure if is was released. Prospect will tell you if a filter is 32-bit or only 8-bit, just turn that control on within the playback settings.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2009, 09:50 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Foothill Ranch, CA
Posts: 152
David, help me understand a little more. I am on Premiere CS4, using NeoHD, so I always select DESKTOP as my editing mode.

Once I upgrade to the V4 NeoHD, if I select on the SEQUENCE Menu "Maximum bit Depth" do I get 32bit processing using Neo and Adobe affects and Transistions (I know only a few of Adobe's are 32bit).

Also, what about when we export via Adobe Media Encoder in CS4. I assume we will be able to choose AVI and select Cineform as the codec. There is a "render at maximum Depth" check box in the new Adobe Encoder. Will this be necessary or will it look only at the Sequence Settings check box.

Thanks in advance. I am really looking forward to the CS4 versions of your products.
Andy Urtusuastegui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2009, 10:10 PM   #6
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
NEO HD/4K is only a 32-bit importer/exporter under Premiere, everything else is under Adobe's control, so the question might be better for Adobe (or do some experiments.) When using Prospect HD/4K CineForm controls more of the high precision math.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:54 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network