Export from Premiere with Neo Scene at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 1st, 2009, 10:59 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Greensboro NC
Posts: 8
Export from Premiere with Neo Scene

Hi, I've just purchased Neo Scene, and the capture and editing of my project have worked flawlessly. However, now I'm trying to render out a sequence from Premiere Pro (CS2/2.0) to work with in After Effects, and I'm not sure how to go about it. I saw one post on these forums that said to not use the Media Encoder - but to use the File::Export Movie command, and to pick the Cineform setting for the File Type - however I do not seem to have that preset with Neo Scene. I'm assuming I have to use the Microsoft DV AVI setting, and then choose Cineform under the Video Settings tab (which I am able to do). However, my audio is all 48KHz, and MS DV does not support 48KHz for anything but uncompressed audio, so I'd like to make sure I'm doing this right. I tried exporting as Quicktime, but I could not see a Cineform codec listed for the Quicktime (nor did I expect to really, I'm pretty sure Neo Scene is AVI-only). Any suggestions as to how I can stay on the "happy path" would be appreciated!
Brian Stewart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2009, 11:15 AM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Use File -> Export -> Movie

Settings use "Microsoft AVI" (not DV)
Under Video use "CineForm HD Codec V4.5.x"
Audio should be 48000Hz uncompressed.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2009, 11:46 AM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Greensboro NC
Posts: 8
Thanks! I assume when I go to export from After Effects, I will choose Video for Windows, and then the Cineform Codec...
Brian Stewart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2009, 11:53 AM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
That is correct.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2009, 12:09 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Greensboro NC
Posts: 8
I sure appreciate the help - this site is great.
Brian Stewart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2009, 12:43 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gwaelod-y-garth, Cardiff, CYMRU/WALES
Posts: 1,215
David, I just tried that export option myself and I get a warning message that I don't have the Cineform HD codec, even though I've bought Neo Scene and am happily converting my AVCHD files with it....
Robin Davies-Rollinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2009, 01:15 PM   #7
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
What does the warning say? If you tried any of our other software, or install NEO Player over Neo Scene it is it possible to have a working conversion tool yet somehow no license for Video For Windows encoding (not common.) You may need contact support at cineform.com/support.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2009, 01:42 PM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gwaelod-y-garth, Cardiff, CYMRU/WALES
Posts: 1,215
David, I did install Neo Player over Neo Scene.
The message says: Not licensed for Cineform HD encoding. Please visit www. Cineform.com to purchase your upgrade.
Robin Davies-Rollinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2009, 02:44 PM   #9
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
uninstall neo player, reinstall Neo Scene.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2009, 04:37 AM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gwaelod-y-garth, Cardiff, CYMRU/WALES
Posts: 1,215
David, many thanks once again. All done and dusted and now working properly!
Robin Davies-Rollinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2009, 03:23 PM   #11
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Greensboro NC
Posts: 8
I have been using Cineform-encoded files with no problems in both Adobe Premiere and After Effects. However, last night I, without thinking much about it, rendered out a final version of a clip using the Cineform codec, for consumption in Adobe Encore. When I loaded the clip into Encore - it just showed up as black. It wasn't a big deal for me, I just re-encoded it as DV, which is what Encore really needed anyway - but I was curious as to whether Encore is supposed to work with the Cineform codec or not.
Brian Stewart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2009, 05:42 PM   #12
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Encore also needs the CineForm importer also, then it should work fine. If you want quality DVD need use DV compression (particular for NTSC output.) NTSC DV uses 4:1:1 chroma, whereas DVD uses 4:2:0, when you mix the two you get half the color resolution in your DVD output (4:1:0 effective = yuk.)

For DVD creation of the best quality. Export to 1080p HD CineForm AVI first. Then resize that AVI to SD as a CineForm files, then encode that to MPEG2 for DVD. See related blog post here : CineForm Insider: Mastering 24p DVDs from HD using Premiere Pro.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2009, 08:56 PM   #13
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Greensboro NC
Posts: 8
Thanks for the very informative link David. I do have a couple of questions though:

1) Is the Cineform importer for Encore installed with Neo Scene? Is it something I need to do myself? Any other ideas as to why the video is black in Encore? I did render it out as 720x480, 30p, with the Cineform Codec in high-quality mode...or at least I thought that's what I was doing. :-)

2) My master is 720p (edited from 1080p original footage) because I don't really need the full 1080 resolution or the "film look" of 24p for my content. I would assume this process would also work for a 1280x720, 30p master, and everything you said about not using the AME export from the master (if spatial filters are involved) would also apply to me. Is this correct? Just export it at 1280x720 from Premiere, then import that and re-export it using the DV setting for the AME, correct?

3) I am using CS2. Was your comment about CS3+ due to a lack of support for 24p in CS2, or is there something else that won't work?

4) I am somewhat familiar with colorspaces, but I didn't quite follow your recommendations for not losing chroma resolution... You said to use DV compression (4:1:1), but I don't see how I can do anything about Encore changing it to 4:2:0 for the DVD. I'm sure it's a lack of understanding on my part - links or references to further reading will be cheerfully accepted!

Thanks!
Brian Stewart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2009, 09:11 PM   #14
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
1) Not sure. You may need to inquire with support.

2) Down-res's in Premiere can cause issues if you are not careful, it applies to 720p from 1080p as it does for SD outputs from HD.

3) CS2 support 24p also.

4) 4:1:1 SD means you have 180x480 chroma, 4:2:0 means you have 360x240 chroma. If you convert from 4:1:1 SD sources to 4:2:0 MPEG for DVD, you get a maximum chroma resolution of 180x240 -- which is pretty poor (the worst of 4:1:1 and 4:2:0 combined.)
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:08 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network