Neo Scene license question at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 8th, 2009, 02:21 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 29
Neo Scene license question

Hallo

I am considering Neo Scene, and want to know if you in a standard license is allowed to install it on 2 different PC's that you own yourself.

Thanks.

/Ulf
Ulf Laursen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2009, 04:00 PM   #2
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Houten (Netherlands)
Posts: 11
Asked the same question but the answer is on their site.

You can't have multiple pc's activated on one license. You can however deactivate-activate between multiple pc's. So effectively you can use multiple pc but only 1 concurrent install will work.

For my use that's sufficient. I can deactivate my desktop and activate my laptop when I need to, and reverse the process when I'm back home...

NB: As long as the (de)activation server is up of course :) (see other thread)
Taroen Pasman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2009, 10:58 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 29
Thanks a lot, Taroen

/Ulf
Ulf Laursen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2009, 10:05 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Solana Beach, CA
Posts: 853
Like all software manufacturers a purchase gives you a license to a single copy. For convenience many manufacturers, including CineForm, allow multiple activations per license. This convenience isn't intended to allow multiple editing installations for simultaneous use. But it is convenient for a workstation installation plus a laptop installation which are not normally used at the same time.

Anyway, there are two activations allowed for Neo Scene without having to deactivate.
David Taylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2009, 11:50 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 29
Ok - thanks David - that is probably what I will need one for home and one for field work.

/Ulf
Ulf Laursen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2009, 02:26 AM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Houten (Netherlands)
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Taylor View Post
...Anyway, there are two activations allowed for Neo Scene without having to deactivate...
Is the same true for Neo HD??
Taroen Pasman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2009, 09:35 AM   #7
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
True for NEO HD also.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:13 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network