Frustration with overlay issues growing stronger - Page 2 at

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 28th, 2009, 08:48 PM   #16
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Coronado Island
Posts: 1,441
Originally Posted by Richard Leadbetter View Post
I've got an nVidia GTX 295 and the nVidia PR person offered me a 9800GTX for PhysX acceleration. I am wondering if you could use the ATI card for your display, then use a second nVidia card for acceleration only, not for display duties.
Interesting idea Richard. How do you configure a WinXP system to use 2 different graphics cards in such a manner?
Robert Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2009, 05:57 PM   #17
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canton, Ohio
Posts: 1,767
I do not think you can have multiple video cards from different vendors without serious issues.

That aside, I can at least enlighten those of you to my latest findings and what I have settled on.

First I have given up on the overlay on a second screen. I realize that only ATI supports this now and that's good, but Magic Bullet does not seem to utilize ATI Gpu so render times with magic bullet projects increased by 10-15 times and previews were impossible.

I installed an EVGA Nvidia GTX 260 and was holding my breath when I loaded my first Premiere project with Magic BUllet applied. Since the new GTX2xx series has strayed from the NVidia 68xx, 78xx, 88xx and 98xx architecture I was scared it would not work. But.....alas it does.

Man does Magic BUllet utilize the took 1:16 to render 48 seconds of Magic Bullet 1080 24P footage on the timeline....this was with a lot of diffusion effects too.

I then turned off the "use GPU" option in Magic BUllet and the same 1:16 was up to 15 minutes when I stopped it. So you could say it is 15 times faster with this GPU than with none.

As far as realtime playback it is likely about half....maybe 12-14 frames per second in high quality and maybe 20 FPS in draft mode.

Just wanted to let anyone out there know this. I am still using Cineform but I tend to think I'll be primarily using it for compression, and not so much for the realtime engine since I can no longer monitor it on my HDTV directly from Premiere.

I'll post if there are any changes. For video cards though, if you use Magic BUllet much, I'd recommend staying away from ATI until this gets resolved.
Marty Hudzik is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:06 AM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network