Cineform clips in Vegas not recognizable! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 1st, 2009, 03:40 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 19
Cineform clips in Vegas not recognizable!

I have used Cineform for as long as it's been included with Vegas. Recently, frustrated with not being able to use it outside of Vegas, I installed the trail version of Neo Scene.

I've been using it throughout the trial period without problems. Yesterday my trial expired and I decided to fork out the $129 to buy Neo Scene. I went through the complicated activation process, converted some MP4 clips with Neo Scene, and eagerly loaded up Vegas to use my recently converted Cineform clips.

Unfortunately, Vegas can only load the audio... It says that the video "stream attributes could not be determined". This worked before... both with the built in version of Cineform included with Vegas 8.0c and with the trial version of Neo Scene! I fear that something didn't go well with the activation process... although I can use Neo Scene without problems.

What did I do wrong? It's funny that it stopped working after I purchased it. I searched this forum and the SCS forums for info regarding "steam attributes could not be determined" and Cineform but couldn't find any explanation or fix.
Michael Gyori is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 1st, 2009, 03:50 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
I assume you did enter the activation code when you started HDLink.

I would uninstall. Go to your program menu, and the Cineform folder, and in the Neo Scene Folder, select uninstall. DO NOT DEACTIVATE.

Once you have uninstalled it, reinstall it from you the latest download. Since you didn't deactivate, your serial number and activation is preserved on you system.

By the way, NeoPlayer can be installed on systems that don't have the Cineform program on them to allow playback of Cineform files.. Hope this works for you...
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 1st, 2009, 10:05 AM   #3
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Rename the CFHD.dll in Program Files/Sony/Vegas Pro 8.0/ to something else. There is a Vegas bug that it sometimes uses the old component instead of the new ones.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 1st, 2009, 11:43 AM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 19
That was it. I have both Vegas 8.0c and Vegas 8.1 installed. In the Program Filesx86/Vegas 8.0 directory there was a cfhd.dll file. Once I renamed it, and reloaded Vegas 8.0c, CF files could be read (it then seems to use the cfhd.dll file in Windows/sysWOW64 directory). I'm using Windows Vistax64.
Michael Gyori is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:19 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network