Vista/64 service pack 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 26th, 2009, 04:36 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lebanon, PA
Posts: 221
Vista/64 service pack 2

Has anyone installed the new Sp2 for vista/64?
Bruce Gruber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26th, 2009, 05:16 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 497
Good question. I did not even know there is a new SP.

I am scared to install it though. ;)

Simon
Simon Zimmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26th, 2009, 06:14 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lebanon, PA
Posts: 221
Me 2 I just got notified my my automatic updates that its available?
Bruce Gruber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26th, 2009, 06:49 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Coronado Island
Posts: 1,452
A couple of posts over on the Adobe PPro CS4 forum sound positive about SP2.
One Poster thought it made Vista 64 more similar to Win 7 on his system anyway. I'm going to install it tonight- once again, the triumph of hope over experience.
__________________
Bob
Robert Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26th, 2009, 07:00 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: NZ
Posts: 38
i have been running on it for a while now and premiere doesnt seem to have any issues with it. Most of my issues are to do with cineform atm which i would find hard to believe is related to SP2.
Anish Sharma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26th, 2009, 07:55 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 497
Okay. I guess I should try it then.

Gulp!!!!!!

:O

Simon
Simon Zimmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26th, 2009, 08:58 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Voorheesville, NY
Posts: 433
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruce Gruber View Post
Me 2 I just got notified my my automatic updates that its available?
If you have the automatic updates option turned on, SP2 will install hardly anything new, since most of the patches contained in it have already been installed on your computer.
Jay Bloomfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26th, 2009, 09:34 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Golden Bay New Zealand
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay Bloomfield View Post
If you have the automatic updates option turned on, SP2 will install hardly anything new, since most of the patches contained in it have already been installed on your computer.
590 odd MB doesn't seem insubstantial to me and it does seem to have improved CS4's performance. I still prefer XP over Vista x64 for the moment. I am running both side by side as a trial both with CF 4. XP is still winning hands down at the moment. It seems to consume less RAM and is more stable.
Ray Parkes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26th, 2009, 10:17 PM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Coronado Island
Posts: 1,452
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray Parkes View Post
590 odd MB doesn't seem insubstantial to me and it does seem to have improved CS4's performance.
I agree.
The Vista 64 download & install was flawless and fairly fast.
Just waiting for CS4.1 and the finished PHD 4 and life will be perfect ;-)
__________________
Bob
Robert Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2009, 10:20 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Voorheesville, NY
Posts: 433
If you look either at the Install Log for Vista SP2 or search for any system files with a new file date, you will see very few. The install log contains a ton of entries that check for the file version of each system file, but if you were already up to date (via automatic updates) virtually nothing is overwritten. It's not just me, most IT websites have also reported this result:

http://www.theinquirer.net/inquirer/...ice-pack-light
Jay Bloomfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2009, 10:06 AM   #11
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 23
Install of SP2 had slight hiccup and then retried and was fine. PP 4.1 and AE 9.0.2 both very smooth. All running well. Fingers crossed.
Cameron Smeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2009, 10:19 AM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 64
FWIW, I went from Vista 32-bit SP1 to Windows 7 64-bit and I'm not looking back! Windows 7 is MUCH better, as is 64-bit. I have seen big performance improvements and the OS is very stable.

Glenn
Glenn Babcock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2009, 03:19 PM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 47
Glenn,

I am currently running XP 32 and considering Win 7 64, are you able to run PP CS4 and Cineform? I would love to know that before I decide to move in that direction.

Any other application issues?

Thanks,

Rick C.
Rick Casillas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2009, 05:55 PM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 64
Rick,

Yes, that's my setup. I built it clean, installed the latest drivers I could find, and then installed CS4. Ran MUCH faster than Vista 32-bit and MUCH more stable. I have 8GB of RAM and with 64-bit I can use it all.

I've just started using PHD, and initially was using the v4 Beta. There have been issues, and I'm still having some trouble with rendering, but that is as much Adobe as CF, if not more. I then installed CS3 with PHD4 and that runs great.

No other app issues.

Glenn
Glenn Babcock is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:58 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network