HDLink: AVCHD AC3 problem at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 2nd, 2009, 08:09 PM   #1
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Evergreen, CO
Posts: 1
HDLink: AVCHD AC3 problem

Well, on the chance that Iím doing something really dumb, I figured that Iíd post here first. Iím feeding AVC files with a 5.1 audio track into HDLink, with the intent of generating CFHD AVIís. My understanding was that I needed to first download and install the ac3filter codec (per another post in the Cineform forums), so I did that, and then fed the files to HDLink. It did generate AVI output, but when I dropped those into PPro, the original 5.1 track is now (in the new AVIís) a stereo track. Certainly, if I just drop the native AVC files into PPro, I see the 5.1 track in the timeline, and it plays just fine.

This is on a WinXPSP3 system with the 212 build, and CS4 with the most recent Adobe updates. Iím processing a file produced on a Sony HDR-XR520V.

I see no options in HDLink to diddle with the audio, and had ass-u-me-d that it would simply be carried to the output file, intact.

Am I doing something wrong? Or maybe HDLink is not supposed to handle (and retain) the AC3 content? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for any and all guidance.
Marvin Nipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 2nd, 2009, 08:33 PM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,086
We only handle stereo mix downs from AC3, simply there is not enough true 5.1 separation from these consumer cameras to warrant the additional effort at this point. I'm not sure 5.1 camera acquisition will every we truly useful, but I'm sure as the market grows we will likely add 5.1 support.
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 3rd, 2009, 12:26 AM   #3
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Coronado Island
Posts: 1,441
It's kind of a grim work-around (& I've never done it), but if the 5.1 was important to you, you could look at copying the 5.1 audio tracks from an AVCHD timeline, pasting them onto the CF sequence, relinking them to the CF video clips, & delete the stereo tracks. Then just edit in the usual manner.
Robert Young is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:58 AM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network