FCP to AE CS4 on PC Workflow Question at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 4th, 2009, 01:11 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 276
Images: 2
FCP to AE CS4 on PC Workflow Question

I have a music video I'm in the process of cutting currently. I'm trying to nail down a surefire workflow to make sure all of my footage is going to stay safe going from FCP into CS4. Can someone tell me if I'll be ok?

1. Edit XDCAM footage in FCP and lock cut
2. Render any clips with speed ramps into Prores 422
3. Copy and condense project (collect all used clips without trimming)
4. Use Remaster to convert all media files into Cineform HD
5. FCP XML file to Premiere Pro - offline XDCAM footage and online with CHD footage
6. Rebuild any missing transitions
7. Move footage over to PC and project files
8. Rewrap into AVIs
9. CC and effects work in AE
10. Cineform HD output for visual master
11. CHD video in timeline with final audio mix on FCP

My footage takes full use of 110 IRE lum and I want to make sure I dont chop the top of it off anywhere. I wont have an issue with this anywhere, will I? Thanks for the help!
Jeremy Hughes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 5th, 2009, 11:53 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 276
Images: 2
Anyone using a workflow between FCP and post/fx work on a PC?
Jeremy Hughes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 5th, 2009, 12:11 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 628
Not sure why you wouldn't just make a dpx / image sequence. Seems like too many steps for something pretty straight forward - Is this because you want to stay in Cineform?

-C
Christopher Drews is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 5th, 2009, 12:17 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 276
Images: 2
I'd like to stay with Cineform and also be able to import the project into AE with the clips setup properly as layers instead of one long img seq. I think the steps upfront will actually buy me time on the backend as well. I'll be moving within several programs for tracking, compositing and finishing on the PC, AE will be the main one but not the only one. Hope that makes sense.
Jeremy Hughes is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:27 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network