Upgrade questions at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 7th, 2009, 10:50 AM   #1
Contributor
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 224
Upgrade questions

I'm a current Prospect HD v. 3 user with After Effects version 7 and PPro 2.0. I'm starting to work with AE and PPro CS4 now and need to be able to use Cineform files captured with v. 3.

To upgrade to v.4, do I need to have version 3 removed from AE7 and PPro 2.0?

Can v. 3 and v.4 peacefully coexist in the same computer IF they're running in different versions of Adobe software? All programs are being run in WinXP Pro...

Thanks for any help with this.
Stuart Brontman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2009, 11:01 AM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Remove v3, v4 is intended to do everything the earier versions do plus new features and CS4 filters.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2009, 11:27 AM   #3
Contributor
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 224
Understood. Can I apply version 4 to both versions of AE and PPro?

Also, can the upgrade be done on a Sunday, or will the activation process only work during normal business hours?

Sorry for the questions - I'm short on time to do the research today (customer changing the production schedule on me!).

Thanks.
Stuart Brontman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2009, 11:41 AM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
v4.0 installs in cs2,cs3 & cs4 automatically if they are all found on the same disk. Activation work everyday, at any time, but no rush as you have 15-days to complete it.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2009, 11:45 AM   #5
Contributor
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 224
So the order process should be... remove Prospect v.3, install/activate version 4, and everything should be o.k.? I know there are some issues on CS4 still, but should I expect CS2 to be trouble-free?

Thanks again for your help David.
Stuart Brontman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2009, 11:02 AM   #6
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
I have used CS2 in a long time, but support should still be there.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:31 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network