Proshow Producer at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 16th, 2009, 11:08 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lebanon, PA
Posts: 221
Proshow Producer

Can anyone tell me if you can use Prospect HD as a output selection for Proshow producer?
Bruce Gruber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2009, 11:58 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dallas
Posts: 747
Normally if you have the codec install in your system it should work, I don't know about Prospect HD, I have Canopus codec installed on my system but it doesn't work with any of them, either I can not open the file or I get some green stuff at the end, there is alot of bugs in this area, can't even render out a uncompressed AVI, Cinepak Codec or anything, the only thing I can render out is HD program stream, or if you make direct dvd or blu-ray.
__________________
Khoi Pham
www.proeditproductions.com
Khoi Pham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2009, 09:33 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,666
You can select the Cineform codec for avi output. BUT (!!!) the max output filesize appears to be limited to 2GB. I suppose it's easy enough to output <2GB segments and join them later, but it's annoying to have to do that.
Graham Hickling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 17th, 2009, 07:58 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 497
Hi Bruce

I looked at Proshow producer this morning. Looks pretty cool.

Do you own it Bruce?

Which version?

Simon
Simon Zimmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2009, 11:18 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lebanon, PA
Posts: 221
Dave any suggestion?

Graham,

I think you are correct... I make a small project and it play with media player if I go over 2g it will not play it creats the file but it will not play??? What is I output to uncompressd avi then run it thru hdlink? What do you think the quality would be?
Bruce Gruber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2009, 11:22 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 497
Hey Bruce,

I have done an avi uncompressed before with Google video. The quality is excellent if using HDLink.

This creates and extra step but worth it once it is a cineform .avi.

Do you own the style packs? I am very tempted to buy the Proshow Producer. Quite impressive.

Simon
Simon Zimmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2009, 01:18 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,666
Bruce I think the 2GB limit is inherent to the way Proshow outputs avis, regardless of what codec (or uncompressed) is being used.

You might try exporting to mov instead ... could be a way around the problem???
Graham Hickling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2009, 04:21 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lebanon, PA
Posts: 221
Graham,
You might be right but I have output uncompressed before over 20g and it worked? I will check with PProducer to see if they have a limit.
Bruce Gruber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2009, 11:11 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lebanon, PA
Posts: 221
Any Ides?

Ok If I output 2G or less the file is fine... If it is over 2G like 20G it fully creats the file but it is un readable by any program including CF. I asked Proshow Producer people and they said they do not have a limit.

Does anyone have anoy Ideas?? The slide shows look awsome using CF. I do not want to make 50 2G avi to complete a slide show.
Bruce Gruber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2009, 11:22 AM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,666
Bruce, try exporting to a Cineform mov wrapper, rather than a Cineform avi.

Some kinds of avi (Type 1, I think?) inherently have a 2GB limit - and I suspect that's the type PProducer exports to. (If so its misleading of them to say they have no limit). In any case, movs have no such limit.
Graham Hickling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2009, 06:12 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lebanon, PA
Posts: 221
Hi Grahm,

I tried that and Proshow Producer crashes right away and closes..
Bruce Gruber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2009, 10:40 AM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dallas
Posts: 747
You guys need to let them know about this rendering problem, the more people complaint about it the more they might look into it, seems like I'm the only one that contact them so far about his rendering problem.
__________________
Khoi Pham
www.proeditproductions.com
Khoi Pham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 27th, 2009, 04:13 AM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lebanon, PA
Posts: 221
Hi Khoi,

I am on it I have been talking with them all week. I even had them download the trial. They say they got a 9g file to render??
Bruce Gruber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2009, 09:31 PM   #14
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,666
Interesting ... I have ProShow Producer 3 installed on a Windows XP 64-bit machine and I just rendered a large (over 5GB) Cineform avi without running into problems.

This is the same version of ProShow that previously refused to render avis that large on several Windows XP 32-bit systems ... so either the 64-bit OS, or the newer version of the Cineform VFW codec (I'm presently on 5.1.4), seems to have fixed the problem! Yay!
Graham Hickling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 10th, 2009, 04:13 AM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lebanon, PA
Posts: 221
Hi Graham,

Very Interesting I am running PPP 4 What version of CF are you on now? Are you using Prospect HD.

Thanks Bruce
Bruce Gruber is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:14 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network