Encoding Speed of CFHD AVI at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 17th, 2009, 07:51 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 334
Encoding Speed of CFHD AVI

I'm sitting here trying to prep a test project for a trouble ticket I have open, and noticed something. I cut out about a minute from a longer clip, where the longer clip has an associated First Light profile. When I export that 1 minute clip to a CFHD AVI, the export takes about 6 minutes. No other effects aside from the First Light profile.

When I bring that 1 minute export back into Premiere and monkey around with getting my test export setup, and then export the 1 minute clip again (this time, NO First Light, and no other effects), the 1 minute export takes about 2.5 minutes.

In this instance, it seems that the clip without First Light attached took a much shorter time to export and used a good 55% of the CPU, while the clip WITH First Light took a long long time (relative to clip length), and only sucked up about 15% of the CPU.

Is this expected behavior when rendering out to CFHD AVI from CFHD AVI? Or could the First Light linkage be the reason that Premiere Pro appears to be starving the CF encoder engine?

Thanks,
Matt
Matt Vanecek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2009, 09:57 AM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Everything sound right expect for the CPU % numbers. A First Light enhanced clips do have more work to do, and that will mean a little longer rendering (although faster than adding the equivalent filters) and MORE cpu usage (not less.)
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2009, 11:12 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 334
Is there anything I can do to find out why the CPU usage is so low when rendering First Light-enhanced clips?
Thanks,
Matt
Matt Vanecek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2009, 10:00 PM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Have support reproduce this.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:52 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network