New betas for NEO HD/4K & PHD/P4K at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 18th, 2009, 06:06 PM   #1
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
New betas for NEO HD/4K & PHD/P4K

This is a minor beta, it is the same release code as 4.0.5.214 with two additions:

1) CS4 importer fixed, removing the green flash that sometimes occurred in playback.
2) 64-bit VfW encoding support with used with the beta 64-bit codec (download separately from http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/cineform-...eta-vegas.html.)

It is only a beta, as the installer has change signicantly, to do a better job of installing into Adobe paths. Please let us know if it is install is working better for you.

P4K http://www.cineform.com/downloads/Pr...14b-090618.zip
PHD http://www.cineform.com/downloads/Pr...14b-090618.zip
N4K http://www.cineform.com/downloads/Ne...14b-090618.zip
NHD http://www.cineform.com/downloads/Ne...14b-090618.zip
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2009, 09:27 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Coronado Island
Posts: 1,452
Hmmm... Green flash not such a problem with the new version PHD4, but still have some clips (always the same ones) that intermittantly play solid green thru the entire clip: If I open PPro 4.1, place the CTI on the preceeding clip & hit "play", PPro will do a vey brief render and the misbehaving clip will play normally, otherwise it plays solid green.
I was hoping this sort of thing will cease when the CF RT playback becomes available.
__________________
Bob
Robert Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2009, 10:23 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Golden Bay New Zealand
Posts: 46
The installer works now on my systems.
Ray Parkes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2009, 10:25 PM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Robert,

If you haven't submitted a sample clip to support, it doesn't exist. :) Never heard of this one. Any that is repeatable is easier to fix. Upload you sample(s) to ftp://ftp.cineform.com/pub/incoming (use an explorer window, then drag in your sample into the window.)
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2009, 12:44 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Coronado Island
Posts: 1,452
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Newman View Post
Robert,
Upload you sample(s) to ftp://ftp.cineform.com/pub/incoming (use an explorer window, then drag in your sample into the window.)
Thanks David. It's up on your FTP: Italy 2007-053.avi, 1920x1080 30p, source codec was 1440x1080 HDV.
Again, sometimes it plays normally, but most often plays only a solid green frame with occasional flashes of proper image. A couple of other clips on the timeline do the same thing, but this one seems to misbehave most often.
System: CS4.1/Vista 64 SP2
__________________
Bob
Robert Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2009, 03:07 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 26
The installer works with PPCS4, but not with PPCS3. (Both are on the same computer.) The CF clips are black. PPCS3 was working perfectly with build 213. First Light works without a hitch.
Carlos Bustamante is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2009, 05:12 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 334
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Young View Post
Again, sometimes it plays normally, but most often plays only a solid green frame with occasional flashes of proper image. A couple of other clips on the timeline do the same thing, but this one seems to misbehave most often.
System: CS4.1/Vista 64 SP2
Hey, Robert, I've got a trouble ticket opened on source M2Ts converted to CFHD with HDLink that have a green frame consistently in particular spots (where the source M2T can be either tape-sourced or tapeless-sourced, so not a stitching-together problem). I've repeated the problem on two different machines (Windows 7 64, and Vista 64). Video clips are generally over 30 minutes. The green frames are only apparent in PPro; they do not appear in VirtualDub. They are, however, in any output video from the sequence.

Have you seen anything similar? Encoding the video M2T-->CFHD using MPEG_Streamclip results in a clean video, but a loss of meta-data, and using the original M2T instead of CFHD yields similarly clean video (but no First Light! :( ).

I did drop a clip in the mail on DVD-DL Wednesday afternoon; hopefully, Jake will get that and be able to make something of it. I'm just glad to see I'm not the only one seeing the wrong kind of green...

Unfortunately, the latest 214b beta build does not fix this conversion issue...
Thanks,
Matt
Matt Vanecek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2009, 08:08 PM   #8
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Young View Post
Thanks David. It's up on your FTP: Italy 2007-053.avi, 1920x1080 30p, source codec was 1440x1080 HDV.
Again, sometimes it plays normally, but most often plays only a solid green frame with occasional flashes of proper image. A couple of other clips on the timeline do the same thing, but this one seems to misbehave most often.
System: CS4.1/Vista 64 SP2
This was not a importer bug, as there was some corruption in that file, causing a decoder error. We can now handle that minor data error, and that clip will play fine in the next release. Please tell us how that clip was created, in HDlink, or within an NLE, and what software version. We also want to fix what caused the file to be created that way.

P.S. I just noticed the clip was pretty old, encoded with codec version 3.6.7, we are now on 5.1.0, so that encode error was fixed long ago. The green decode error popped up as we have been preparing the codec for 64-bit work. So your clip was very helpful.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2009, 09:42 PM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Coronado Island
Posts: 1,452
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Newman View Post
Please tell us how that clip was created, in HDlink, or within an NLE, and what software version. We also want to fix what caused the file to be created that way.

P.S. I just noticed the clip was pretty old, encoded with codec version 3.6.7, we are now on 5.1.0, so that encode error was fixed long ago. The green decode error popped up as we have been preparing the codec for 64-bit work. So your clip was very helpful.
David
That particular clip was captured from HDV tape (Sony HDV) and converted by HDLink 3.x. It has been used previously in PHD3.x/CS3 project without any problem. I just now recopied the clip from the CS3 system to the CS4 machine- the new copy previews with the same green frame as the one I sent you.
If I can find the original HDV file, I'll try reconverting it with the latest version of HDLink & see how it plays. Whatever is going on is not universal- I have 200-300 clips from the same HDV tapes, converted at the same time by the same version of HDLink (3.x). All but a couple are playing normally in CS4, and this particular one plays normally some of the time as well.
__________________
Bob
Robert Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2009, 11:10 AM   #10
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Here are the same fixed for Neo Scene:

Neo Scene -- http://www.cineform.com/downloads/Ne...17b-090618.zip
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 21st, 2009, 07:11 PM   #11
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
I have refreshed the 64-bit component, fixed some encoding issues.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:39 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network