Matrox MXO2 Mini with Cineform at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 29th, 2009, 01:01 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: London
Posts: 147
Matrox MXO2 Mini with Cineform

Hello,

I was reading about this
Matrox MXO2 Mini Now Provides Inexpensive HDMI Monitoring for AVCHD Editing with Adobe Premiere Pro CS4 and CineForm NeoScene

News: Matrox MXO2 Mini Now Provides Inexpensive HDMI Monitoring for AVCHD Editing with Adobe Premiere Pro CS4 and CineForm NeoScene

How far off is the Blackmagic Decklink realtime output of Cineform projects to a Broadcast monitor via hd/sdi, component, HDMI etc? Or is it just easier to get a AJA XENA LHE card under Windows and get rid of my Multibridge Eclipse?

As it's annoying not be able to watch what you are editing using Blackmagic cards and the suppport for the XENA cards are already there.

Leo
Leo Baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2009, 06:49 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Kråkstad Norway.
Posts: 229
I cant answer your question but I do use the Matrox mini for Cineform files and it works great.
__________________
http://www.mlotv.com
Gary Brun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2009, 09:49 AM   #3
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Leo,

Simply Blackmagic drivers are harder to work with. We have to make architectural changes to support it, some of the changes are underway for CS4 (not just for Blackmagic.)
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2009, 11:23 AM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Kathmandu Nepal
Posts: 7
Prospect HD captured files

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary Brun View Post
I cant answer your question but I do use the Matrox mini for Cineform files and it works great.
hi Gary,
Does matrox mxo2 mini playsback cineform files(fullraster 1080 25p) captured by Prospect HD in realtime in Premiere CS4??
Nimesh Shrestha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2009, 01:00 PM   #5
Sponsor: Electronic Mailbox
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Glen Cove, NY
Posts: 751
The big difference here is that the folks at Matrox are supporting the team at Cineform and vice-versa. I am happily surprised at how fast and smoothly things are going on this and I hope it's the beginning of a long term relationship that extends up and down both companies product lines.

With the Intensity Pro card being dumped at $199, do you really think Blackmagic is going to be putting any investment into it going forward????

Gary
__________________
Check out http://www.videoguys.com 800 323-2325 We are the video editing and live video production experts! DV InfoNet members save 5%! Use Coupon Code DVINFO5OFF
Gary Bettan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2009, 02:22 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Glendale, CA
Posts: 92
Matrox MXO2 Mini with Cineform Capture

Hi David and David,

What would be the processor and other hardware specs needed to capture 1080 24p (from the HV20) with a Matrox MXO2 Mini?

I've got a 2.4 Core 2 Duo MacBook Pro that I would run on Windows through Boot Camp if I can't capture on OSX.

-Geoff
Geoff Murillo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2009, 03:31 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Kråkstad Norway.
Posts: 229
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nimesh Shrestha View Post
hi Gary,
Does matrox mxo2 mini playsback cineform files(fullraster 1080 25p) captured by Prospect HD in realtime in Premiere CS4??
Well it does for me :-)
That's why I bought it.
Also it doesnt use any PC processing power to view either.
I did have a small problem with jerkiness... but that was because my files were a little fragmented.... quick defrag and everything was back to normal.
__________________
http://www.mlotv.com
Gary Brun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2009, 09:38 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 58
Will it capture?

Hey what I really want to know is can we use the Matrox Mini to capture directly to Cineform, and then playout in the timeline. It sounded like they were tiptoeing around this in the press release. I thought the MXO mini only captured to Mpeg2, granted with higher bitrates, but I'd much rather have a Cineform only workflow. Is it happening now?

Chris
Chris Swartz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2009, 10:10 PM   #9
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Chris,

No capture to CineForm over MXO2. The Matrox API does not allow this yet, please put in your request with Matrox. We also want to support it within First Light, but the same API limitations will need to be overcome.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2009, 05:07 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Kråkstad Norway.
Posts: 229
I cant capture in the cineform codec but I can view cineform captured files.
__________________
http://www.mlotv.com
Gary Brun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2009, 08:59 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Wilsonville Oregon
Posts: 32
Can you view out of After Effects with the MXO?
Mike Falconer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2009, 09:10 AM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 1,719
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary Bettan View Post
The big difference here is that the folks at Matrox are supporting the team at Cineform and vice-versa. I am happily surprised at how fast and smoothly things are going on this and I hope it's the beginning of a long term relationship that extends up and down both companies product lines.

With the Intensity Pro card being dumped at $199, do you really think Blackmagic is going to be putting any investment into it going forward????

Gary
It depends how many they sell. At this price point it could very well be their number one selling product.
Thomas Smet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2009, 02:22 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Kråkstad Norway.
Posts: 229
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Falconer View Post
Can you view out of After Effects with the MXO?
Yes I can.
__________________
http://www.mlotv.com
Gary Brun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2009, 06:16 PM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Estonia
Posts: 142
Does it work on mac in FCP and cineform?

Thank You
-Kaspar
Kaspar Kallas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2009, 10:49 PM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Kråkstad Norway.
Posts: 229
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaspar Kallas View Post
Does it work on mac in FCP and cineform?

Thank You
-Kaspar
Sorry Casper I'm not on Mac.... but I cant see why not?
Someone else will come back to you with an answer I'm sure.
__________________
http://www.mlotv.com
Gary Brun is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:47 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network