CFHD Clips Missing from Trimmed Projects? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 10th, 2009, 10:24 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: monroe, or
Posts: 572
CFHD Clips Missing from Trimmed Projects?

CS4, the digital car wreck that I can't seem to tear myself away from... always seems to come up with something to keep us poor video hackers guessing.

This time, those lovable little gremlins at Adobe seemed to have cast a nifty little spell on the project manager, specifically, the project trimming function.

For some reason, the resultant trimmed projects do NOT collect or include any CFHD files.

This is a consistent result with several projects. Just curious if anyone else has run into the same issue.

At least nowadays, CS4 and I have seemed to come to a good working arrangement. It does its thing, I smile and say "you got me again you rascally NLE".... then search for the nearest beer.
Marty Baggen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 10th, 2009, 05:51 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: El Cerrito, CA
Posts: 266
Marty,

did it happen with CS3 as well?
(I have three CFHD projects waiting to be trimmed,
and you just scared the crap out of me).

Best

Vasco
__________________
www.donesmedia.net
bricioledamerica.blogspot.com (in Italian)
Vasco Dones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 10th, 2009, 05:57 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: monroe, or
Posts: 572
Hi Vasco.... sorry to be source of fear, but I never encountered this issue with CS3.

I even created a new project, set up Cineform parameters, imported ONE CFHD video file.... dropped it into the timeline.... trimmed a few seconds off the head and tail.... saved the project, then proceeded to the project manager.

I attempted to save a trimmed project, established a target directory.... clicked okay, went to the folder... and the only file in the directory is the Premiere project file.

Not good news.

Other AVI files are collected and trimmed... but not CFHD.

I would absolutely love to learn that I am doing something boneheaded.... but in that category, CS4 actually has a worse track record than I do.
Marty Baggen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 10th, 2009, 10:37 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: El Cerrito, CA
Posts: 266
Thanks Marty,

you're saying that CS3's trimming never nuked
your CF projects: that sounds quite reassuring, as
I have no intention whatsoever to "upgrade" to CS4
(it took me 3 or 4 months to figure out how to
tweak my system so as to lower CS3's instability
to an acceptable level - and now I want to enjoy it for a while)

Anyway: good luck! - and keep us posted
(BTW: what's so interesting and cutting-edge in CS4
that makes people upgrade? I used Prem 6.5 until last year -
out of fear, I guess...)

Vasco
__________________
www.donesmedia.net
bricioledamerica.blogspot.com (in Italian)
Vasco Dones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 10th, 2009, 11:10 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: monroe, or
Posts: 572
We must all be masochists Vasco. We're all so eager to trade reasonable stability for the latest version number.

I have a trouble ticket filed with Cineform on this issue, but it's hard to imagine that it is their problem.

If I knew for sure I was going to live another 60 years, I would go through Adobe "support".

If I sound frustrated and bitter, I suppose I am... and you are wise to withhold your "upgrade". Anyone who questions that statement hasn't attempted the most simple of NLE tasks in the CS4 world.... the basic framegrab. It is a microcosm of the "improvements" CS4 has to offer.

The solution.... a Cineform NLE. But that notion has already been swatted out of the ballpark.

I'll certainly post any new developments here. I'm sure Jake and the gang at Cineform will have some pointers if not solutions to this issue.

In the meantime, it would be very informative if other CS4 users could post their results of using the trimmed project function of project manager. That could quickly educate us whether this is an isolated problem for me, or a universal problem for all CS4/Prospect HD users.
Marty Baggen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2009, 08:46 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: El Cerrito, CA
Posts: 266
Done trimming my CS3 projects;
all CF files seem to be where they should be;
can slowly untangle my fingers...
__________________
www.donesmedia.net
bricioledamerica.blogspot.com (in Italian)
Vasco Dones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2009, 04:20 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: monroe, or
Posts: 572
CS3 never had this problem.... it seems to be yet another surprise bonus feature of CS4.
Marty Baggen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2009, 01:08 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Foothill Ranch, CA
Posts: 152
Me Too

Holy cow! I just timmed a project in CS4 and NO CF AVI files. Only the Mp4 files come across.
Andy Urtusuastegui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2009, 09:06 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: monroe, or
Posts: 572
Andy.... I think you have confirmed that a real problem exists, and it's probably not just me. Thanks for touching base. As I mentioned in an earlier post, I have a trouble ticket with Cineform filed.

I will update on this thread when I learn more.

David... in the meantime, this should be a very easy scenario for you to replicate to verify?
Marty Baggen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 17th, 2009, 08:18 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: monroe, or
Posts: 572
Can anyone with CS4 in any configuration confirm that Project Manager will collect and trim CFHD files for archive?

My issue is with ProspectHD, but any other Cineform configurations under any OS would be enlightening to know.

I have a ticket pending with Cineform as well, but nothing to report as of yet.
Marty Baggen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2009, 11:32 PM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,666
Marty, I just bit the bullet and upgraded to CS4 on a Windows7 64-bit machine, with ProspectHD on board.

I can confirm that it won't trim CFHD avis - dagnabbit!!

Did the Cineform folks give you any reason to hope we might eventually see a fix for this???
Graham Hickling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2009, 09:51 AM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: monroe, or
Posts: 572
Hi Graham....

Unfortunately, the Cineform position is that they do not officially support Win 7 yet. My support ticket was closed by them under the assumption that this issue will be resolved with the realtime engine fixes.

This has become extremely frustrating. I can understand and empathize with the 9 month wait for CS4 implementation. What is maddening is that at this point, we don't even know what we are waiting for anymore? See my thread here:What Can We Expect For CS4/Win7?

I wouldn't be shocked to hear that the CS4 divide cannot be bridged. What then? And if it is, what gets fixed?

How many of us could possibly be excited about doing this all over again with CS5??!

Staying with CS3 is always an option, and CS4 is an abomination for many reasons.... but having to use legacy versions of software is a choice I would rather make for reasons other than incompatibility.

I've stated many times on this board.... at first only half-way seriously, but now it is with all sincerity.... we need a Cineform NLE.

Take the person-hours spent over the past 12 months in attempting to wedge the Cineform square peg into the Adobe (fill in the blank here)-hole, and you'd be well on your way to a nifty, solid, supremely supported, NLE system. The hours saved in support time alone is worthy of factoring into this.

Maybe we need a "Cineform NLE" petition on this board?
Marty Baggen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2009, 10:06 AM   #13
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,666
Unfortunately, CS3 isn't presently an option for me on my Win 7 machine - I have the red upsidedown playback glitch with CFHD files. (Frustrating, because I had that combination working OK on a previous machine with different hardware).

So on balance, having no project trimming is less of a show-stopper than having no timeline playback. Hence my upgrade to CS4 yesterday. Sigh.
Graham Hickling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2009, 10:08 AM   #14
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Win7 should work fine for CS4 (as it is) with a registry tweak for First Light. The next software release should help with Win 7. The issue is Win 7 and CS3 -- we are focusing on CS4 at the moment -- once Win 7 is official we will look into CS3 RT support for Win 7 (i.e. fixing purple playback.) As for CS4 progress, here is an update on the tech blog http://techblog.cineform.com/?p=2534
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2009, 10:32 AM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: monroe, or
Posts: 572
That's a helpful update David, and appreciated.

Is there a link or instructions for the registry steps on Win 7 for First Light?
Marty Baggen is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:30 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network