No more Set Active Metadata applet with NeoPlayer on OSX? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 28th, 2009, 09:31 AM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 1,095
No more Set Active Metadata applet with NeoPlayer on OSX?

Hi,

I was wondering what the new methodology for registering .look files was on OSX. Before I was using the Set Active Metadata applet in order to import .look files into the client machine, but now it does not seem like this applet installs with NeoPlayer, at least on OSX. I have a couple clients who have been using my SI-2K, and they are trying to watch footage on their machine ... unfortunately since they can't register the .look files (or at least I'm not quite sure at the moment how to-do so without the Set Active Metadata applet), the footage is not in a "good-looking" viewable state. So again, I'm just curious how this process works for those who want to view footage with the as-shot metadata actively applied to a CineForm RAW file when using NeoPlayer on OSX.

Thanks,

Jason
Jason Rodriguez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 8th, 2009, 02:07 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Estonia
Posts: 142
Hi Jason

RTFM ;)
Just drag .look onto firstlight application

-Kaspar
Kaspar Kallas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2009, 11:57 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 1,095
Thanks Kaspar :) ... the only problem though is Firstlight doesn't exist with NeoPlayer (i.e., the "Free" version of the CineForm software codec), so it's a kind of chicken-or-egg scenario if you must have Firstlight to register a .look file.

That being said, CineForm has fixed the problem for OSX users, so this is no longer an issue.

Thanks,

Jason
Jason Rodriguez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 11th, 2009, 12:09 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Estonia
Posts: 142
Hi

So what is the "official" solution then - I have been under impression that one can only use neo4k in demo mode to make any use out of SI footage on osx?


-Kaspar
Kaspar Kallas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 3rd, 2010, 01:36 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: toronto, canada
Posts: 212
was there ever a solution?

1. I shot with a default .look in camera
2. Gave the footage to the post house
3. They didn't like that .look.
4. I created a new .look in First Light (also with a new white balance).
5. Sent them the .look file
6. They only have NeoPlayer.
7. Is there any way for them to apply my new .look and white balance to each clip...?
__________________
Justin Lovell
cinematographer//8mm.16mm>HD.transfers . www.framediscreet.com
Justin Lovell is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:55 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network