New CS3 and PHD4 install: red upside down playback again :( at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 28th, 2009, 03:47 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,666
New CS3 and PHD4 install: red upside down playback again :(

A while back I tried ProspectHD4 with Premiere CS3 and Windows 7RC. Initially I had problems with red upside down playback of the timeline. Then a new update of PHD4 arrived that fixed the problem for my system.

Just finished setting up a new i7 Window7 machine with a 250GT Nvidia card. Installed the latest drivers and latest update of ProspectHD and red upside down playback has returned.

Tried reinstalling PHD in Vista compatibility mode but no joy.

I really really hope there's a fix for this, because CS4 is not where I want to head!!!
Graham Hickling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 28th, 2009, 09:42 PM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
We have not been working CS3 + Win7 issues. So the change that made it work was not from us. Likely a permissions issue.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 28th, 2009, 10:02 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,666
So you are saying it should work? That gives me hope at least ...
Graham Hickling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 28th, 2009, 10:12 PM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
No, just that you said it worked once, and we haven't attempted to change anything (that seems a good sign.) Most Win7 issue are permissions related, that might be all it is, but we have not looked into this particular issue.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 29th, 2009, 12:46 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Denver, CO, USA
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham Hickling View Post
A while back I tried ProspectHD4 with Premiere CS3 and Windows 7RC. Initially I had problems with red upside down playback of the timeline. Then a new update of PHD4 arrived that fixed the problem for my system.

Just finished setting up a new i7 Window7 machine with a 250GT Nvidia card. Installed the latest drivers and latest update of ProspectHD and red upside down playback has returned.
Graham, you might want to see if you can install the version of PHD4 that was working for you instead of the lastest update. This will help to isolate where the issue could be.

David, I love the Cineform products, but please do not assume that your products will be running with administrative rights. As a software developer myself, having full access to the drive made things easy for us (and we got lazy); but the Program Files directory structure is reserved for running programs from and should not be used for storing user configration or temporary files. If you need these capabilities use either the ProgramData or user profile areas. This will greatly reduce permission problems with your code.
Roger Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 29th, 2009, 10:11 AM   #6
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Roger,

We are aware of this. The only data the only user data that stored in Common Files (works for XP and Vista) was the LUT information. The LUTs are now movable to a new location via a registry key, so this is not the problem for the playback issues.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 29th, 2009, 09:15 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,666
Spent the day trying everything I could think of without success ... have reverted to desktop mode for the time being. My problem is that it's a new system (processor, graphics card, motherboard etc) so too many variables changed simultaneously to figure out why the previous system worked and this one doesn't.

Others are having the same red-upsidedown problem (http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/cineform-...-7-plunge.html) so I guess I'll wait and hope that a CS3/PHD4/Win7 tweak is possible at some point.
Graham Hickling is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:17 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network