HDCAM and CFHD at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 9th, 2005, 11:21 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Budapest , Hungary
Posts: 194
HDCAM and CFHD

The HDCAM format records 1440x1080 resolution on the tape with a 3:1:1 compression as 8 bit with the data rate of around 22 MB/sec. This compression cannot be edited in anything but a SONY XPRi editing system if I understand this correctly…now is it possible to capture from the HDCAM into uncompressed avi via Decklink HD for example and than convert it to CFHD . The resolution , the bit is the same so I think there will be no big time loss since the data rate of CFHD is about 22 MB/sec as well ! The only thing might be a problem is Aspect HD only supports 50i and not 25p .

So am I completely off track here or not ??? If it works than it would be so nice to edit a feature shoot in HDCAM even on a laptop….

Gabor
Gabor Lacza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 9th, 2005, 12:09 PM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
With Prospect HD you can capture to 1920x1080 4:2:2 (HD-SDI standard.) You can use other capture solutions with a two step process, capture uncompressed, then convert. However, your uncompressed with 1920x1080 4:2:2 not 1440x1080 3:1:1 (HDCAM internal only format.) You will have to handle the conversion to 1440x1080 for input into CFHD in you intend to use Aspect HD only. Basically I would recommend Prospect HD not Aspect HD for HDCAM over HDSDI solution.

Note: Aspect HD can run at 25p (and 24p) you simply need to create a preset.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 9th, 2005, 01:28 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Budapest , Hungary
Posts: 194
David,
but why I need to capture to 1920x1080 4:2:2 if the HDCAM internal tape format records at 1440x1080 3:1:1 anyway...I am not going to gain anything if I capture from the tape into the computer at higher resolution wont I ???
Prospect HD would be great but I do have 3 great computers already so I am not intended to buy another just for Prospect HD...if it would be a standalone app like Aspect Hd I might consider buying it...
Gabor Lacza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 9th, 2005, 01:40 PM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Prospect HD will be available separately for self integration before NAB. There is a link on cineform.com so you request information when this happens.

Regarding way capture 1920x1080 4:2:2, because 1440x1080 3:1:1 is not an HDSDI format. When you output HDCAM over HDSDI you get 1920x1080, so that is what you have to capture.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:45 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network