Red 4k prospect 4k at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 18th, 2009, 10:58 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: LA, California
Posts: 22
Red 4k prospect 4k

Hello, I have some problems converting some REd 4k footage in cineform. I need to convert the 4k raw files into 4k avi files or even 2k. i followed this guide Red Workflow with Prospect 4K but I still have troubles because redcine doesn't render and gives me a message: Failed to write frame 0. how can i solve this??
Matero Materassi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2009, 01:24 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Estonia
Posts: 142
Hi

This information is badly dated. Just use straight .RED files in HDlink or ReMaster on mac

-Kaspar
Kaspar Kallas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2009, 01:28 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Northern California
Posts: 517
That page is a bit out of date. They have new tools like R2CF Remaster and HDLink depending on your exact needs. There are details here:
http://techblog.cineform.com/?p=998
__________________
For more information on these topics, check out my tech website at www.hd4pc.com
Mike McCarthy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2009, 09:47 PM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: LA, California
Posts: 22
thankyou very much..but if I apply some corrections in redcine and i use the batch converter do i see the changes? I tried to use HDlink but i doesn't accepd R3D files...
Matero Materassi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2009, 10:39 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 91
Absolutely use R2CF with the scripts....super easy
HDlink dosn't work

I don't even touch RedCine any more....once you understand the active metadata and first light...you won't either

The scripts are super easy...just intimidating for some because theres no UI

I have had a Red for a year and a half and have yet to run any project through redcine....
cool UI and some decent color controls....but has no meat in the render departement.

First Light all the way
Mike Harrington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2009, 10:41 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matero Materassi View Post
thankyou very much..but if I apply some corrections in redcine and i use the batch converter do i see the changes? I tried to use HDlink but i doesn't accepd R3D files...
no...
Cineform will respect the Red metadata only during conversion...after that it is in cineform's hands...which you can tweak to your hearts content in FirstLight
Mike Harrington is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:41 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network