Connect HD questions. - Page 6 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 22nd, 2006, 09:29 AM   #76
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
To get a 24p-like output from a 60i source, select de-interlace and remove 3-2 pulldown. Did that not work?
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2006, 07:10 PM   #77
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Japan
Posts: 93
No. That does not work. In the frame rate change (advanced) menu I selected Remove 3:2 pulldown and left the Rate Change box at no change. In the precompression Filters menu I selected De interlace 1080i souces and Resize video to none. Then I captured a clip from my A1, just a plain 1080 60i clip, no cineframe or anything. Vegas shows the clip as 29.970fps interlaced and looks like it to when i play it back in wmp. Do i have to change the frame format from automatic to progressive or something? Thank you for your reply.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad E6600(@3GHz) | Nvidia GeForce 9600 GT/1GB PCI-e x16 DVI |
8GB DDR2-SDRAM | 2 x 1TB S-ATA2/7200rpm/32MB Hard Drives | Vista Ultimate 64
Mark Duckworth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2006, 10:36 PM   #78
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
It turns out there is a small bug. It does deinterlace and extract pulldown, however it left the frame rate at 29.97 rather than 23.976. It was correct for MXF files, not for M2T files. This is now fixed for M2T and will be released in a update -- likely within the week. In the meantime you install the fixed component to try out you conversions from 60i to 24p from your A1. The file here www.cineform.com/downloads/CFVideoChange.zip needs to be unziped and copied over the old one in C:\Program Files\Common Files\CineForm. Have fun.

P.S. This patch is only valid for Aspect HD 4.1 build 58 and Connect HD 3.0 build 18.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2006, 02:07 AM   #79
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Japan
Posts: 93
Patch worked great. Thank you for your help.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad E6600(@3GHz) | Nvidia GeForce 9600 GT/1GB PCI-e x16 DVI |
8GB DDR2-SDRAM | 2 x 1TB S-ATA2/7200rpm/32MB Hard Drives | Vista Ultimate 64
Mark Duckworth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2006, 08:22 AM   #80
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Clermont, FL.
Posts: 941
Is it safe to assume that version 3.0.3 already has this fix?
Laurence Kingston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2006, 09:28 AM   #81
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Yes, plus a few other fixes.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2006, 11:45 AM   #82
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Clermont, FL.
Posts: 941
I just want to say that I am really happy with the quality of the ConnectHD 60i to 24p conversion. To my eyes it is noticably better than either a DVFilm conversion or a Vegas 24p render from 60i. Add to that the the conversion goes pretty quickly and that the file sizes are smaller and put less strain on the CPU and drives, and I think that you have a winner here!
Laurence Kingston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2006, 11:19 AM   #83
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 186
Video Podcast with Cineform Connect HD 3.0.3

Howdy....

For anyone interested, I just completed my first podcast shot with Cineform's new Connect HD 3.0.3 version. Previously, we've used version 2, and now we're doing the deinterlace right in Connect (as opposed to doing it in Vegas). Saves some rendering time, which is nice... You can find it here:

http://www.neo-fight.tv

I think the footage is a little sharper than with 2.0, which considering we have to shrink it down to podcast size, is a nice benefit...

Best,

Benjamin
Ben Freedman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2006, 12:17 PM   #84
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 755
Capture issue with Connect HD

Is it me, or does Connect HD not capture a tape without user interaction. Meaning, if I have a tape that I ran for 60 minutes and it will capture the whole thing. If I have a tape that I stopped the camera every 10 minutes and then recorded again, Connect HD requires me to hit start again after 10 minutes(or everytime to camera was stopped) which is worthless to me, I don't have time to babysit it!

Any suggestions?

Thanks,

Jon
Jon Omiatek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2006, 12:23 PM   #85
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
It captures and converts whole tapes. If you any other behavor you should file a trouble ticket. We will was that data to make there isn't a particular camera in a particular mode that we have an issue with.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2006, 12:57 PM   #86
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 755
Shot with Sony Z1
Captured with Sony Z1
Using Cineform Connect HD V2.1

When I get some time tomorrow I will contact your technical support to see about the issue.

I am in the process of reinstalling the OS with no extra software to see if something else is causing the issue.

Thanks for the fast response.

Jon
Jon Omiatek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2006, 11:01 AM   #87
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,290
trial version of cineform connect hd

Is the trial version of connect hd different from the one you buy? any extra features?

also, i'm using the trial version with vegas 5.0. I capture from my hd100 using cineform as a stand alone program--so far it's doing pretty good. Is that how cineform is intended to work with vegas 5? as a separate program? I thought it was a plug in or was supposed to integrate with the vegas interface.
Brian Luce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2006, 04:46 PM   #88
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Solana Beach, CA
Posts: 853
Brian,

The Trial version and the Purchased version are identical.

Yes, Connect HD works standalone from Vegas. It works differently with Aspect HD and Premiere Pro because Premiere gives us an interface that allows us to literally replace the Premiere arithmetic engine with our own. Because of that we work "inside" Premiere, and it's how we get such high performance in Premiere.

Vegas doesn't have that same kind of interface so we work externally. However...we worked with Sony on some codec-specific optimizations that gives Vegas extra performance when using CineForm Intermediate that other apps can't take advantage of.
David Taylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 16th, 2006, 04:05 PM   #89
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Niagara Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,121
Anyone using HD connect for high def?

I was curious what people are using for encoding the FX1. I am testing out HD connect, but I wonder how much difference there is between Large file size and MEdium file size as far as quality goes...
David Delaney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 17th, 2006, 02:00 AM   #90
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 67
I got the impression upon reading the help file that there was very little difference in image quality, and a significant difference in file size. I haven't done any image comparisons between the two, but for the moment am happy to stick with the medium setting.
Richard Iredale is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:03 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network