ConnectHD upgrade policy ? and A/V not the same length ? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 24th, 2005, 10:50 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Taipei, Taiwan
Posts: 19
ConnectHD upgrade policy ? and A/V not the same length ?

Hi, I'm a regisitered user of Vegas 5 and plan to buy Z1 weeks later, before purchasing the ConnectHD , I'd like to ask some questions:

1.What is the upgrade policy ?
the current version is 1.6x, will the free upgrade policy only affective until the version 2.x, or within a time period after purchase,i.e one year ?
(sorry to ask this question, since I had a bad expierience in the upgrade from Vegas 4 to version 5)

2. Since ConnectHD was only supported under Win XP, so I must abandoned the W2k, is there any efficacy or stability difference between the Home and Pro version of Win XP in the HDV editing ?

3.I had downloaded the trial version and worked on some m2t available from the internet , after the conversion to CFHD avi and dragged them to Vegas 5 and I found the length of the video and audio is not the same ?
the audio is shorter about 2 frames, why did this happen ?


Any opionion will be highly appreciated !
Jeffrey Liou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2005, 12:41 AM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
1. No official policy, but we haven't charged for an upgrade yet.

2. Both work fine.

3. It is a MPEG thing. When using scene detection, the video is broken into the GOPs for scene A and B. This happens because camera places a couple of audio "frames" from the end of scene A in the first GOP of scene B.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2005, 06:10 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Taipei, Taiwan
Posts: 19
Thanks for quick reply, David.

>>>>>It is a MPEG thing. When .......
so it's inherent MPEG problem, but could it be fixed/solved ?
or should we cut out the extra frames of video very time in manual ?
Jeffrey Liou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2005, 06:40 PM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Normally frames are trimmed as part of normal editing habits so it is rarely an issue. However it is on the list to see if it can be addressed in a future update.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2005, 07:31 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Taipei, Taiwan
Posts: 19
<<<-- Originally posted by David Newman : it is on the list to see if it can be addressed in a future update. -->>>

Happy to hear that !
Jeffrey Liou is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:12 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network