so PPro, deinterlace w/ fields kit, then at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 1st, 2005, 12:19 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 141
so PPro, deinterlace w/ fields kit, then

output directly to WM9 720P or do I have to output to microsoft AVI before I can make a WM9?

I made a WM9 720p file this way but it does not play smoothly.
Greg Jacobson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 1st, 2005, 12:56 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 141
Ok, must have been my computer because it is playing back smooth now.

Cool, so you don't have to render to ms AVI. You can go directly out to wm9HD.
Greg Jacobson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 1st, 2005, 02:27 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 1,520
Right. It is slow enough without having to go to AVI first.

I usually use 720 deinterlaced even though I have a FX1 because that is all my TV can handle natively anyway. Why waste space?
__________________
Steven Gotz
http://www.stevengotz.com
Steven Gotz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 1st, 2005, 02:50 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 141
<<<-- Originally posted by Steven Gotz : Right. It is slow enough without having to go to AVI first.

I usually use 720 deinterlaced even though I have a FX1 because that is all my TV can handle natively anyway. Why waste space? -->>>

But is it really 720p after you deinterlace? I have seen people say it is less res than that.
Greg Jacobson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 1st, 2005, 03:12 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 1,520
I have no way to measure the actual resolution, but I can not tell the difference between 1080 and 720 when played on my TV, and until I shoot something for broadcast (unlikely and time soon) I really don't need to worry about it.

Maybe I need to shoot a chart and try it out.
__________________
Steven Gotz
http://www.stevengotz.com
Steven Gotz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 1st, 2005, 03:28 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 141
<<<-- Originally posted by Steven Gotz : I have no way to measure the actual resolution, but I can not tell the difference between 1080 and 720 when played on my TV, and until I shoot something for broadcast (unlikely and time soon) I really don't need to worry about it.

Maybe I need to shoot a chart and try it out. -->>>


What do you use to deinterlace? Fieldskit?
Greg Jacobson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 1st, 2005, 03:58 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 1,520
So far, I just deinterlace on export to WM9. If I needed a bit better, I would probably use After Effects. But it has not been an issue.
__________________
Steven Gotz
http://www.stevengotz.com
Steven Gotz is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:29 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network