AspectHD conflict with ConnectHD at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 9th, 2005, 06:55 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 20
AspectHD conflict with ConnectHD

Hello, about a month or so ago, i downloaded the ConnectHD trial. It expired, then recently i purchased Premiere Pro 1.5, and seeing that my computer cant really handle the capturing with the HD plugin from Adobe, i came to AspectHD because i knew ConnectHD worked. Well when i attempt to capture video from premiere it says "ConnectHD has expired" then gives me the option of activiating, or cancel. At first i hit cancel and thought it was captureing the frames, until it was done and said that nothing had been captured.

I just got the AspectHD trial and i will NOT buy this program if i dont even know its gunna work!!

any ideas?
__________________
-B. Miletta
Brandon Miletta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2005, 07:42 AM   #2
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Contact the support people for the program. They should be
able to help you out with this problem. There is nothing we can
do since we did not make those programs.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2005, 08:03 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Katoomba NSW Australia
Posts: 635
<<<-- Originally posted by Rob Lohman : Contact the support people for the program. They should be
able to help you out with this problem. There is nothing we can
do since we did not make those programs. -->>>

Huh?!! Isn't this thread for Cineform software user queries?

As AspectHD and ConnectHD are both Cineform products, I would have thought this was the exact thread Brandon's question should be in......

As he's using the trial versions, he doesn't have the opportunity to get a 'job ticket' for his problem like registered users of the full versions can.

I'd suggest to Brandon, that if he has a 'Restore Point' on his system (assuming it's XP) he may be able to restore to a point before he loaded either of the trial versions.

Otherwise he may just have to make a very thorough registry check for any references to any of the terms that may be associated with both Aspect and Connect, and delete the entries....but that's not a 100% guaranteed method.

Depends on how confident he is with altering the registry...
Steve Crisdale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2005, 08:08 AM   #4
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Yes, it is what these forums are for. However, we are not the
manufacturer! We offer these boards to discuss the products
and let everyone help eachother out.

Trial restrictions are specifically coded by a company to get people
to look at a product and evaluate it. If you have problems with
that, you need to contact the company that makes the product.

Neither myself or I bet anyone else can tell you how to get the
trial that doesn't want to work working again, besides the obvious
you pointed out (system restore) or a new installation of Windows
on the current system or a new system (or another computer
that never ran that software before).

He may not be able to open a support ticket, but there is always
a way to contact a company through either e-mail and/or a
contact form. Most companies would be eager to help you resolve
such problems because there is a good chance it will produce a
sale.

I doubt any company will respond directly to such questions (with
a working answer that is) on a public forum. They will probably
tell you to contact them, which is what I was doing as well.

I apologize if I came off sounding harsh, I was just brief and
wanted to point Brandon to the company behind the product.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2005, 11:56 AM   #5
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
We do support trouble tickets from trail versions of Aspect HD and Connect HD. Brandon, go to www.cineform.com/support -- I would offer an answer here on the forum, unfortunately I haven't heard of this one.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2005, 02:08 PM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 20
Okay, submitted the Ticket, can someone point me to how i can get rid of the stuff in my registry? I will try and use system restore and go back before i installed the AspectHD trial, but i dont think i will be able to go back to the ConnectHD trial, because i have installed some important things sense then
__________________
-B. Miletta
Brandon Miletta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2005, 06:39 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 1,520
Before you do anything drastic, can you simply uninstall ConnectHD?
__________________
Steven Gotz
http://www.stevengotz.com
Steven Gotz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2005, 02:12 PM   #8
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 20
Well, i first got rid of 1.5, then (i downloaded the trial for 1.5, then halfway through updated it to 1.6) when i uninstalled 1.6, not everything went away, so when i did delete the rest of it, i re-installed AspectHD and i think it just re-installed ConnectHD.. It looks like AspectHD runs from ConnectHD but i may be wrong
__________________
-B. Miletta
Brandon Miletta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2005, 03:52 PM   #9
AJA Video Systems
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Grass Valley, CA
Posts: 36
Uninstall

Brandon,

Probably you have the expired ConnectHD codec still on your system. Heres how to fix your problem

1) Uninstall Aspect HD
2) Uninstall Connect HD
3) In Add/Remove Programs uninstall CineForm HD VFW Codec
4) in C:\Program Files\ be sure that the 'CineForm' Folder is gone. If it is not, delete it.
5) In C:\Program Files\Common Files\ be sure the 'CineForm'
folder is gone.

Reinstall Aspect HD

You should be good to go.

Thad H.
CineForm Support
__________________
TH
www.aja.com
Thad Huston is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:45 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network