HDLink -- various questions - Page 10 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 19th, 2007, 11:41 AM   #136
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
There is no difference in the M2T handling for Prospect HD and Aspect HD, so more likely there was an install issue. I just tested my PHD M2T conversion, and its working fine. Uninstall Prospect HD, and re-install again. If the problem continues, work with support tomorrow -- file a trouble ticket today.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2007, 02:25 PM   #137
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 695
Thank you David,
I will do that.
Marc Colemont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 8th, 2007, 05:48 PM   #138
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 51
HDLink File conversion

Easy question, when converting .m2t, avi files etc using HDLink does the process convert them from 8 bit to 10/12 bit Cineform avi files or do you have to render them out within AE or PPro to increase the bit depth?

I've searched the forum and can't find a definitive answer.
Dean Gough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 8th, 2007, 11:45 PM   #139
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
YUV 4:2:2 is always stored with 10-bit precision (even for 8-bit sources.)
RGB 4:4:4 and RGBA 4:4:4:4 is always stored with 12-bit precision.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2007, 12:23 AM   #140
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 51
Thanks for the answer David.

Just to be absolutely clear, this is for both live captured and manually converted files?

Within HDLink there doesn't seem to be a facility to choose to convert YUV material to 4:4:4. Does it choose the output bit depth based on the colour space of the incoming video file?

I'm using the demo at the moment and I've converted a few files. When I bring them back into AE7 they only show up as "millions of colours" which Iwould presume is only an 8 bit depth. The demo Viper footage all imports with "trillions of colours"




Quote:
Originally Posted by David Newman View Post
YUV 4:2:2 is always stored with 10-bit precision (even for 8-bit sources.)
RGB 4:4:4 and RGBA 4:4:4:4 is always stored with 12-bit precision.
Dean Gough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2007, 11:09 AM   #141
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
In AE7 are use the CineForm importer or the default AVI importer? The AE AVI importer is only 8-bit.

For 4:4:4:(4) file creation you will need to use AE or PPro, HDLink link needs some upgrades for DPX file input.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2007, 05:21 PM   #142
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 51
I assume it uses the Cineform importer as the demo Viper footage interprets as "trillions of colours". When footage is rendered out in AE7 as 444 and then reimported it also displays the high bit depth.

Just to be sure it is not the AE importer I will force the Cineform importer with the Shift/Ctrl key and post the results.

Thanks for your help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Newman View Post
In AE7 are use the CineForm importer or the default AVI importer? The AE AVI importer is only 8-bit.

For 4:4:4:(4) file creation you will need to use AE or PPro, HDLink link needs some upgrades for DPX file input.
Dean Gough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2007, 01:57 AM   #143
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 51
Forcing the Cineform importer seemed to cure the problem. Files converted by HDlink appear as "trillions of colours".

Highly likely we would convert all files to 444 anyway for compositing. So guess we have to run through AE anyway.

Interestingly these show up correctly even when Cineform importer is not forced.

Thanks for the help.
Dean Gough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 13th, 2007, 11:36 AM   #144
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Lafayette, CA
Posts: 42
Missing HDLink in build 91

I just installed Aspect HD build 91 and it doesn't install HDLink. In Start>Programs>Cineform there is only the Tools folder, no Aspect folder.

And while on the topic of Tools, what is the Register Components script for?
__________________
Bruce Findleton
Land's End Productions
Pleasanton, CA

http://www.landsendproductions.com
Bruce Findleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 13th, 2007, 12:15 PM   #145
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
It should be there, and no other reports of is missing. un-install and re-install.

"Register Components" -- used under tech support directive if certain errors occur -- can fix installation issues.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 13th, 2007, 12:55 PM   #146
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Lafayette, CA
Posts: 42
Uninstalling manually instead of letting the installer do it did the trick. Thanks.
__________________
Bruce Findleton
Land's End Productions
Pleasanton, CA

http://www.landsendproductions.com
Bruce Findleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2007, 01:07 PM   #147
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 19
HDLink m2t converting problems

I recently purchased Neo2k to see it would improve my workflow with the V1u, DR-60 and FCP (on a dual 2.66 MacPro). But I haven't been successful yet in converting an m2t file into the cineform intermediate codec. I'm trying to run HDLink in parallels, but I get an error message in the log and nothing happens.
Log:
pSinkFilter->SetFileName(T2CW(pOutputFilename), NULL) (0x80004005 - Unspecified error) in (ConvertGraph.cpp at 2099)

Anyone seen anything similar?

-Nick
Nick Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2007, 01:25 PM   #148
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Would I repeat myself and say try support, however it this case I know what it is, and it is funny one. You haven't installed QuickTime on the XP side of you Mac, a tad ironic, and you are trying to create an MOV file under XP which requires QuickTime.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2007, 05:33 PM   #149
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 19
Hi David, thanks for the response. I'm a little windows challenged, that makes total sense. I'll try it out! thanks!
Nick Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2007, 07:54 PM   #150
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Solana Beach, CA
Posts: 853
Nick, it is counter-intuitive until it sinks in. In fact when we installed Parallels the first time we scratched our head on the same issue until we had the "Doh!" realization....
David Taylor is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:03 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network