HDLink -- various questions - Page 22 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 26th, 2009, 11:52 AM   #316
Major Player
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Natal, RN, Brasil
Posts: 900
Odd HDLink split scene capture prob

We have captured for a long time with HDLink (CFHD) and usually have no real probs with the stable versions. Now, we just came against a strange scenerio that maybe David could explain.

We sync'd two Sony V1's with freerun timecode going, to make our production lives a bit easier. When we try to capture with "scene detect" turned on, it goes nuts and only records the last few secs of the 2-3 min captures!

This happens for all the scenes...

Suggestions (other than capturing manually...)?
UPDATE: we can capture with timecode in Premiere under CS3 this way, but not in HDLink. Can't remember if this is normal? If so, why would it be "normal"? Is this another Adobe roadblock to CF?

Also, "scene detect" apparently works under CS3 in Premiere, but not in HDLink with freerun timecode. Very odd.
"All in the view of the LION"
Stephen Armour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2009, 11:58 AM   #317
CTO, CineForm Inc.
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,086
Question for support.
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2009, 02:25 PM   #318
Regular Crew
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: norway
Posts: 50
If only I could get HDlink working things would be fine in every aspect - or should I say prospect. But since upgrading from AHD to PHD I lost HDlink. Starting hdlink.exe only activates the capture log window. I was hoping that phd v4(beta) would be the solution to my issue - but no. My AE cs3 / cs4 and ppro cs3 has been installed over and over again - as PHD 3.4.9 and 4.0.1. Obviously there must be something wrong with my setup as HDlink 4.0.1 seems to work fine (not really tested but the GUI is there !) on one of my laptops but NOT on the editing machine. Question ; is it possible to have two separate installations of HDlink (different machines) on the same registration code. Or stated another way - is HDlink dependent on a registration in order to work more than the 15d trial period.
Idar Lettrem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2009, 07:58 AM   #319
Regular Crew
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: norway
Posts: 50

TECH SUPPORT AT CF sent me patch for HDlink_registry_values & everything works well. I'm impressed. And still wondering how this "error" came to arise in the first place.
Anyway - great support. Just to let you know ;)
Idar Lettrem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2009, 07:18 PM   #320
Regular Crew
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Solana Beach, CA
Posts: 112
FYI, all the Vista + HDV capture problems we were seeing internally disappeared with the Vista SP1 update.

I have an HV20 personally, and Jake has an HV30. Both of us are able to capture with HDLink in Vista... and do so regularly. The Sony HVR-V1U hasn't really ever had problems, and continues to work well.

If you haven't done the SP1 upgrade yet, please try it!
Tim Bucklin
CineForm Software Engineer
Tim Bucklin is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:31 AM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network