HDLink -- various questions - Page 6 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 30th, 2006, 10:44 AM   #76
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
As you have a Sony camera, only the CineFrame 24 mode uses pulldown (I think the HC3 has that as the HC1 and FX1 and Z1 did.) But it tends to be an unpopular mode, so I doubt you shot with it. We use the pulldown control with the deinterlace control to make a new function, 60i to 24p -- sorry if that is a little confusing -- try it out.

Also try out anything before buying it, even the great magic bullet. Your desire for a film look may or may not be achieved with post processing alone, camera techniques can help -- plus no-one truly agrees on what makes a film look (often mentioned: 24 or 25 frames progressive, grain, high dynamic range, shallow depth of field -- not all are archivable with video.)

If you have CineForm AVIs edit with them, you will never want to touch M2T files after that -- CineForm is that much easier to edit with.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2006, 10:43 AM   #77
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 1,675
Images: 1
has the latest version of HDLink corrrected this problem? I still have it. HDLink randomly stops X minutes into the tape.
__________________
BenWinter.com
Ben Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2006, 10:52 AM   #78
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Sorry, David T. can confused another issue. Some systems the camera temporarily disconnects causes a shortened capture, it isn't common in the customer base and nothing has changed to address that -- although it is still in the database waiting a solution. What has been fixed is batch conversion of M2Ts which used to stop at random.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2006, 06:01 PM   #79
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Toronto Ontario Canada!
Posts: 353
Differnces in A/V Synchronization between HDlink & CineformHD within PP2.0

Hello

Lately I've been trying to get best DVD output from HDV via:

PP2.0-> output M2t(backup to HDVTape)-> M2T File Convert to Cineform AVI (via HDLink)-> VirtualDub Resized to 720x480 AVI-> Procoder to Variable Bit DVD.

The results are actually very good.

However one of the my outputs was a music video and thus I had meticulously cut the video directly in sync with the audio. The M2t file preserved my A/V sync with no problems but however when I watched the Cineform HD AVI (generated via HDLink) I noticed that the audio and video was NOT perfectly in sync.

So I tried recreated another Cineform HD AVI file but this time from the timeline from within PP2.0 and thus the Cineform AVi was now in proper audio video sync.

Has anyone else noticed this problem when using HDLink?

Thanks in advance!
__________________
dreaming hobbyist + storyteller
www.michaelywong.com
Michael Y Wong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2006, 06:45 PM   #80
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Likely there is nothing wrong with the AVI, sometimes playback within mediaplayer can be slightly off on some PCs. To make files easier to play use this tool

http://www.cineform.com/downloads/PlaybackControls.zip

Double click on AcceleratedPlay.reg so the mediaplay will decode faster.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 13th, 2006, 12:58 PM   #81
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 8
HDLink Settings for Sony Z1U

Shot footage in 50i Cineframe 25 and like to edit in the CineForm preset in PPro 2.0 24p.

Clip does not play correctly in the the timeline, but goes directly to the end of the clip.
Brian Panelo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 13th, 2006, 01:24 PM   #82
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Within the capture settings panel set "Rate Change" to convert your 25p/50i to 24p or (more common) 23.976p. If playback issues presist after make this change, please file a trouble ticket at www.cineform.com/support.
Attached Thumbnails
HDLink -- various questions-capturesettings.png  
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 13th, 2006, 01:44 PM   #83
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 8
Thanks for the quick reply, but still the same issue. Submitted a ticket and awaiting a response
Brian Panelo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 13th, 2006, 02:33 PM   #84
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 8
one more thing...I'm using HDLink to capture 60i now...

I noticed that any CineForm Project used will not play the video correctly. Although, if I import the same video into the Adobe HDV 60i project, the video plays just fine.

Question is: Will I lose any benefits as far as editing goes??
Brian Panelo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 13th, 2006, 02:35 PM   #85
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Yes, you loose lots. Clearly something isn't install correctly on your system. You should try reinstalling Aspect HD as a quick fix.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 13th, 2006, 03:11 PM   #86
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 8
could it be something in the playback settings? The moment i change from composite video to alpha or anything else, it plays...

I have an nVidia quadro fx 560
Brian Panelo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 13th, 2006, 03:40 PM   #87
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
I doubt it. Sounds like an install issue or a DirectX issue.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2006, 07:19 AM   #88
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 568
Can HDlink log file be saved?

Still trying to debug my issue. The more data I get, the faster I may find root cause.

Dave
Dave Campbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2006, 10:20 AM   #89
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Select the LOG window then ALT+"Print Screen" to capture a picture to the clipboard. Use IrfanView (irfanview.com) to past the picture and save a PNG.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2006, 10:38 AM   #90
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 568
Yea, I know I can do this. But, some of the log files are multiple screens long. So, maybe an enhancement input, be able to save the entire log file.

Dave
Dave Campbell is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:46 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network