Recompression question at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 28th, 2005, 06:38 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Posts: 42
Recompression question

Hi,
What is the difference between Cineform HD Export and Cineform HDV AVI in PPro Export movie general settings. Does any of them provide no recompression? I mean simple bit to bit copy when no effects/transitions or other manipulation applied. Just raw edits. I tried both but "render" time seems to be much longer then just copying the file... For comparison if I do the same with DV file, export is several times faster than realtime.
__________________
Jaromir Pesr
i/o post

Last edited by Jaromir Pesr; May 28th, 2005 at 07:32 PM.
Jaromir Pesr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 28th, 2005, 07:11 PM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
There are two "compilers" (Premiere terminlogy) as one comes with Premiere Pro 1.5.1 (the HDV version) and the other is added by Aspect HD. You don't want to use the older HDV version as it doesn't support the new vsRGB and a couple of other enhancements. Unfortunately both do recompress, even when they don't need to. That is "on the list" of features, to make cuts only export much faster.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 28th, 2005, 07:31 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Posts: 42
Thanks David,
which one is native Aspect HD? I suppose the HDV AVI - one with more options. And can I understand your lines that no-recopression will be solved in further releases? It sounds great.
And finally: Is there any choice to install decoder only "codec" to machines for network rendering purposes? We are using about 20 render only PCs running After Effects engine and I'm not sure how to let them decode a Cineform right now.
__________________
Jaromir Pesr
i/o post
Jaromir Pesr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 29th, 2005, 11:20 AM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
"CineForm HD Export" is the Aspect HD version. You don't really need to pick it as it is the default for projects created with any of the Aspect HD presets.

For render farms you can use the VfW decoder for free -- we only license the encoding. So find these two files from your Aspect HD system CFHD.dll and CFHD.inf (located in c:\WINDOWS\system32.) Copy them on to each of your render nodes. Right click on the .inf file and select "Install."
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2005, 07:34 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Posts: 42
David,
recently I've followed your advice to use a Wfw decoder on machines without license and it works perfectly. But now I realised that cineform logo appears over the image in After FX again. I've probably got AHD tryout installed on several of them before (due of testing) and I tried to reinstall the codec there without succes. I've unistalled the AHD software a long time ago of course. Did I make anything wrong?
__________________
Jaromir Pesr
i/o post
Jaromir Pesr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2005, 07:40 PM   #6
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Does the logo look like a watermark or is it a solid red and white image with a black border?
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2005, 08:11 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Posts: 42
It is a watermark. Horizontal and vertical lines crossing at lower left corner with cineform letters at very corner..
__________________
Jaromir Pesr
i/o post
Jaromir Pesr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2005, 08:39 PM   #8
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
OK, next week will have to determine which module doesn't have that licensing behavior. You should be able to decode without a license.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 4th, 2005, 04:10 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Posts: 42
Ok, I'm listening, David..
__________________
Jaromir Pesr
i/o post
Jaromir Pesr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 7th, 2005, 10:08 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Posts: 42
David,
didn't you forget of me? I know it is not your duty to answer but usually this is the fastest way to get answers for the issues... I still did not resolve this problem.
__________________
Jaromir Pesr
i/o post
Jaromir Pesr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 7th, 2005, 10:55 PM   #11
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
In the next release of Aspect HD and Connect HD the expiring decoder license issue is fixed. This way you can decode the latest CineForm files on any PC simply by installing either of these trial packages (no purchase necessary.) I hoping the new Aspect HD (v3.2) will be available within the week.

So I didn't forget to address the problem, I only forgot to tell you about it. :)
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 8th, 2005, 01:59 AM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Posts: 42
Ok, great, thank you very much... I'm looking forward it...
__________________
Jaromir Pesr
i/o post
Jaromir Pesr is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:23 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network