First Light White Balance issues at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 10th, 2009, 01:27 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 334
First Light White Balance issues

hey,
The White Balance sliders in First Light are providing me no end of headaches! When I adjust the kelvin, the tint changes. If I adjust the tint, then click (but DON'T move!) the Kelvin, then the tint changes. If I toggle the Enable checkbox, then the entire White Balance settings change!!! I don't mind the Red/Green/Blue sliders changing, but when I set the temperature, I expect the temperature to NEVER change, and when I set the Tint, I expect the Tint to NEVER change, unless maybe I slide the RGB sliders. What gives, guys! ESPECIALLY the Enable checkbox changing the WB???

Very frustrating such good idea has such implementation problems...

Matt
Matt Vanecek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2009, 03:07 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 86
If your are in Vista, run program as Administrator.
David Moody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2009, 03:21 PM   #3
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
I've never noticed, and you are the first to mention it, likely as it is purely cosmetic. White balance is performed as R,G,B gains, and kelvin and tint number are just rough indicators to to that alternative color system.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2009, 04:38 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 334
I may have misunderstood how to use the adjustments, then. In, e.g., Photoshop & Camera Raw, you use the temperature and tint adjustments. I assumed that First Light would be the same. Is this not the case?

Thanks,
Matt
Matt Vanecek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2009, 05:01 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Burbank
Posts: 1,811
The controls seem to be the same as in Adobe Camera Raw, except that in First Light you have the R, G and B sliders in addition

In First Light you can change the temp slider and the tint (magenta/green) slider. The RGB sliders change automatically to show how these colors were changed.

Also, the Tint slider seems to operate in reverse in First Light to the way it operates in Adobe.

Also, the First Light temp and tint sliders will go to extremes not available in Adobe.

Bottom line, you have two ways in First Light to control color temperature:
1. The Temperature slider and the Tint slider
OR
2. The RGB sliders.

You use one method or the other. Move the Temp and Tint sliders, and the RGB sliders move on their own to the correct values. Move the RGB sliders and the Temp/Tint sliders move on their own to the corresponding values.
Jack Walker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2009, 12:07 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 334
Jack,
Problem is, the Kelvin and Tint sliders keep jumping around, when I move from Kelvin to Tint, the Kelvin slider will pop back up to where it was before I slid it. And toggling the Enable button also causes both Kelvin and Tint sliders to jump around. I interpret David's post as meaning we should be using the RGB sliders, and when I use those instead of Kelvin/Tint, everything appears to work normally. I think there's something screwy in the user interface. Guess that's what you get with .NET...

Thanks,
Matt
Matt Vanecek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2009, 12:11 AM   #7
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
All meant is the number on the kelvin/tint are cosmetic, the kelvin and tinit slide work fine -- that is what I use. Not really an issue.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2009, 12:27 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 334
David,
It's totally an issue! The sliders keep jumping around! I'll see if it'll let me get a screen capture of the jumping in action tomorrow.

Thanks,
Matt
Matt Vanecek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2009, 10:42 AM   #9
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Yet the just doesn't negativity impact the white balance, that is why I consider it cosmetic and ore import features and functions to address.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2009, 11:40 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Estonia
Posts: 142
Hi

David, why it is not an cosmetic error is when you do wb with wb/tint controls then the sliders move, now when you grab the slider to move it a bit you get very unexpected color. I have hit my head against this at least few times - it is just "a bit weird look" when the DOP sits next to you....

Matt, CF seems to small company chewing a big piece of software, sometimes it is easier to learn a new thing rather than to wait something to get fixed, just use the RGB sliders, took a few hours but got a hang of it ;)

my .02 euros
-Kaspar
Kaspar Kallas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2009, 01:28 PM   #11
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
I see the problem now, there is a GUI refresh issue (what it is displaying is not what it is internally.) I'll put it on the list.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2009, 05:53 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 334
Thanks, David! I'll just use the RGB sliders like Kaspar suggests, and be very cautious, for now. I'm just happy to hear I'm not totally crazy! :)

Thanks,
Matt
Matt Vanecek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2009, 04:13 PM   #13
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Fixed. The where different table converting temp to RGB, than RGB to than, the mismathc causes the problem. You are going like the next release of First Light.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 14th, 2009, 02:49 AM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Kråkstad Norway.
Posts: 229
I look forward to it.
__________________
http://www.mlotv.com
Gary Brun is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:17 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network